• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

What are request types in IT service management?

Request types are the types of requests that can be raised in your service project, such as “Get IT help” or “Request a new account”. They direct your customers to the right place to submit their requests, and allow your agents to more effectively assist your customers by automatically sorting requests into the correct queue and IT service management (ITSM) category (service request, incident, problem, or change). Learn more about how ITSM categories work.

Request types can also be organized into groups in your help center to help customers find the right place to submit their requests. Learn more about setting up, customizing and organizing your request types, or learn how to customize the fields of a request type to suit each request.

Each request type is based on an issue type, and a single issue type can be the basis for many different request types. For example, both the Request new hardware and Request new software request types, could be based on the Purchase issue type. This is because request types manage specific settings such as naming and portal customization, while issue types manage foundational settings like workflows and fields.

Creating new request types

Project admins can add and configure custom request types in Project settings Request types, or use the defaults that come pre-set within your service project.

If you're setting up request types for the first time:

  • Think about how your customer would write a request, for example Purchase a new monitor instead of Submit a hardware request.

  • Break request types down into smaller chunks, such as Get help with printers or Get wi-fi access.

  • Avoid specialist terminology. For example, use I need access rather than Deploy SSH key.

Learn how to create a new request type.


Assigning existing request types

The following section refers to features that will be rolling out in the coming months, and may not currently be available on your Jira Service Management site. To find out when these features will be live on your site, keep an eye on our release notes or on the Atlassian Community.

If you enable ITSM categories in one of your existing service projects, you can then assign your existing request types to a category to gain additional features for your requests. Any request types not assigned to an ITSM category will be found in the unassigned section of your request types settings page, and the ‘Queues' section of the navigation sidebar on the left. Learn more about unassigned request types.

After a request type has been added to an ITSM category, the request type can't be moved to another category, and the category will be permanently added to your service project.

Learn how to assign an existing request type to an ITSM category.


Last modified on Jul 30, 2021
Cached at 8:37 PM on Oct 27, 2021 |

Additional Help