• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Set priority levels of alerts

This article highlights a new alerting feature that's natively available in Jira Service Management which is gradually rolling out to some Jira Service Management Cloud customers. It may not yet be visible or available on your site.

An alert created by a Jira Service Management integration has a level of importance, which is defined as its priority level. An alert may have one of the five different types of priority levels: P1, P2, P3, P4, and P5 where P1 indicates the highest priority and P5 is the least. You can set the priority manually. This way, the alert created from this integration will always have that priority set.

To parse the priority from the alert payload, you can do either of the following:

  • Select the {{priority}} dynamic field.

    • The integration sends a priority value and Jira Service Management parses and maps it to its known priority levels. The priority is set according to the priority value from the payload that the tool sends.

    • The alert has an unknown value or the tool has priority information. In this case, the alert gets the default priority which is P3.

  • Select Custom Value to Jira Service Management Priority.

    • A new field shows up for you to define how you'd want to parse the priority from the payload. The result must be one of the priority values that Jira Service Management allows: P1, P2, P3, P4, or P5. You can drag dynamic properties and use string processing methods. If the result is an unknown value, then the priority of the alert is set at the default priority value, P3.

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.