• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

What are alert priorities?

This article refers to features that are currently rolling out. To find out when these features will be live on your site, keep an eye on our release notes or the Atlassian Community.

The alert priority level conveys the severity of an alert, and affects who is notified, what notifications they receive, and how they receive those notifications.

By default, alert priorities scale from:

P5 - Informational. Colour: dark green.
P4 - Low. Colour: bright green.
P3 - Moderate. Colour: yellow
P2 - High. Colour: orange
P1 - Critical. Colour: bright red.

When the alert priority is updated, the notification flow for that alert will restart if the new priority is higher than the previous priority level.

Alerts can have the same, or a different level of priority as the incident so that you can control what alerts are sent for each of your issue priorities (in this case, incident priorities). Learn more about issue priorities.

For example, for a P3 incident, you might only want to send P4 level alerts. By default, the top 5 alert priorities will be assigned to the top 5 incident priorities, and any new incident priority levels will be assigned to the lowest Apps > Opsgenie alert priority (P5 - informational). These can be managed in your global settings by a Jira admin, and will affect every service project using incident management.

You can assign alert priorities to incident priorities by going to the Incident management page in your Project settings and selecting Assign alert priorities.

Responder alerts

Alerts will automatically be created when someone is assigned, added as a responder or owns a service on the incident. We recommend adding the Responders field to each of your incident request types so you can create and acknowledge responder alerts from the issue view of an incident. Learn more about responder alerts.

Additional Help