• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Assign request types to an IT service management category

This article refers to features that will be rolling out in the coming months, and may not currently be available on your Jira Service Management site. To find out when these features will be live on your site, keep an eye on our release notes or on the Atlassian Community.

If you’ve recently added IT service management (ITSM) categories to your existing service project, your current request types will be marked ‘unassigned’ - meaning they don’t belong to an ITSM category. If you select Assign request types on the Request types page in your Project settings, you can assign these request types to a category.

Once your request types are assigned, you’ll find requests of those types in the relevant queue. For example, if you assign the 'Reset my password' request type to the service requests category, all existing and new requests of that type will appear in the service requests queue in your navigation sidebar.

You won’t be able to change the category of a request type once it has been assigned, so it’s a good idea to have the categories decided before you start. If you’re not sure which category to assign your request types to, you can learn more about ITSM categories, and how ITSM categories work in Jira Service Management.

To assign existing request types to an ITSM category:

  1. From your service project sidebar, select Project settings > Request types.

  2. Open the ITSM category you would like to assign request types to.

  3. Select Assign request types.

  4. Select the request types you would like to assign to that category.

  5. Select Review.

  6. Select Continue once you're happy with your selection.

  7. Select Confirm to assign your selected request types to their new category.

Additional Help