• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Remove a work category from your service project

There are five work categories in Jira Service Management - service requests, incidents, problems, changes, and post-incident reviews. These are enabled by default in service projects created with the IT Service Management (ITSM) template, and admins can enable them in existing projects by going to Project settings > Features. Learn how to add a work category to any service project.

You can also remove these work categories from your service project if they’re not currently needed by your team.

To disable a work category:

  1. Go to Project settings > Features.

  2. Find the work category you would like to remove from your service project.

  3. Use the toggle to disable the work category.

    1. If requests types are assigned to the work category, read the warning and select Disable to continue.


If request types have been added to a work category, these request types will become unassigned. Learn how to assign a request type to a work category.

Content, fields, and features specific to that work category may not be visible on issues 
with unassigned request types. Content will not be deleted, however to make the content visible, you may need to add additional fields to the issues. Learn how to add fields and make your issues compatible with different work categories.


Additional Help