Trash and restore a space

If a service space is finished or no longer needed, you can move it to the trash where it will be available for 60 days before being permanently deleted. Within that 60-day period, Jira Service Management app admins or Jira admins can restore the service space and use it again. Find out how to restore a service project.

You need to be an app admin or Jira admin to move company-managed service spaces to trash. To move a team-managed service space to the trash, you’ll need to be an app admin, Jira admin or a space admin.

Move a service space to the trash

  1. Next to the name of your space in the sidebar, select More actions (•••), then Space settings.

  2. Select Details

  3. Select More (), and then Move to trash.

  4. Select Move to trash.

Alternatively, you can: 

  1. From the top-right, select Settings, and then Spaces.

  2. Select Manage spaces from the sidebar.

  3. Find your service project and select More (), and then Move to trash. 

  4. Select Move to trash.

Work items from service spaces in the trash won't appear in search results. Service space associated schemes, workflows, work types, or any content that might be shared with other service spaces won't be affected by moving a service space to the trash.

Once a service space is in the trash:

  • SLA timers: Any existing timers associated with requests will stop counting.

  • Automation flows:

    • “SLA time remaining” and “Time in Status” flow types won’t be executed. These include flows like the At-risk SLA alert and the Close resolved work item preset automation flow.

    • Flows that execute actions on work items will fail and won’t be re-tried.

    • If the service space is restored, flows will only be executed once operations are performed on existing requests. For newly created requests, automation flows will run as normal.

  • Incoming emails: Any email requests sent while the service space is in the trash won’t be processed.

  • Deployment gating: New deployment gating change requests will not work, but any pending or paused change requests for deployments will remain in that state.

Restore a service space from the trash

Only Jira Service Management app admins or Jira admins can restore a service space. Service spaces in the trash will be permanently deleted after 60 days.

To restore a service space from the trash: 

  1. From the top-right, select Settings (), and then Spaces.

  2. Select Trash from the sidebar. 

  3. Find the service project you want to restore, and select More (), and then Restore. 

You may need to turn on email support for your service space to work as normal.

  1. Next to the name of your space in the sidebar, select More actions (•••), then Space settings.

  2. Select Channels & self service, then Email.

  3. Select Turn on email support.

The service space along with its requests, queues, automation flows, SLAs, and reports will be restored. Agents can edit and work on work items. The service space will appear in directories and work items will appear in search results.

From the trash, Jira Service Management app admins or Jira admins can: 

  • See when a service space was moved to the trash

  • See who moved the service space to the trash

  • Find out when a service space will be permanently deleted

  • Restore a service space that was moved to the trash

  • Permanently delete a service space

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.