• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Jira Automation docs have moved

All content related to Jira Cloud Automation, previously under the Automate your Jira processes and workflows section, have moved to the new Cloud Automation docs.

Go to Cloud Automation documentation | Why did we do this?

Remove Confluence product access for users in your site

Viewing the right content?

From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, view the improved user management content.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

Product access settings let you control people’s access to Atlassian products at your organization.

Your team only requires product access to Jira Service Management and not to Confluence to create and manage knowledge base articles from your service project.

So if you’re using Confluence solely for your knowledge base, you could potentially save by switching to a Free plan of Confluence (if you make monthly payments) or by managing user access. We recommend that you check how many of your users need to have product access to Confluence and adjust your user access and billing accordingly.

You need to be a site admin or an organization admin to manage product access for users on your site. Learn more about product access.

Remove Confluence product access for groups

To remove product access for users in a group:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com.

    1. If you're an admin for multiple sites or an organization admin, select the site's name and URL to open the Atlassian organization for that site.

  2. Choose Product access from the side navigation.

    1. If you are the org admin:

      1. Choose Products from the main navigation.

      2. Find Confluence, and select the More menu (⋯).

      3. Select Manage product access to get to the product access page.

  3. Scroll down to Confluence and turn off the toggle next to New users have access to this product.

  4. Find the groups you want to remove product access for. In this scenario, you may be looking for the site-admins or administrators groups. Select the More menu (⋯) for the respective group. Select Remove group.

  5. Go the Administration access tab.

  6. Scroll down to Confluence.

  7. Find the remaining groups you want to remove product access for. Select the More menu (⋯) for the respective group.

  8. Select Remove group.

This will ensure that every user in these groups will stop having product access to Confluence and that new users won’t automatically get product access to Confluence. Refresh the page and check the number of billable users to make sure that you’ve removed all users who don’t need access to Confluence.

If the group you want to remove is a default group, you’ll find that the Remove group option is disabled. In this case, you’ll need to select the group to get to the group details page and remove individual users from that group.

Remove Confluence product access for individual users

To remove product access for a select few individual users:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com.

    1. If you're an admin for multiple sites or are an organization admin, select the site's name and URL to open the Atlassian organization for that site.

  2. Select Users from the left side of the page.

  3. Find the user you want to remove product access for.

  4. Select View details.

  5. Make sure the toggle for Confluence is off.

This ensures that the respective user will stop having product access to Confluence. If the toggle is disabled, it is most likely because the user is a trusted user. To enable the toggles, change the user’s role from Trusted to Basic. Now follow the steps mentioned above to remove product access for this user.

Please note that when you change a user’s role to Basic, this also removes their ability to invite new users to any product on the site. Learn more about how to grant users product admin permissions.

If a quote has already been generated for your Confluence plan, the changes you make to the number of your billable users will only reflect in your next billing cycle. Please contact us for any quote revisions.


Improved user management experience

Product access settings let you control which people have access to which products when they signup or afterwards.

With recent improvements to the knowledge base in Jira Service Management, your team only requires product access to Jira Service Management and not to Confluence to create and manage knowledge base articles from your service project.

So if you’re using Confluence only for your knowledge base, you could potentially save by switching to a Free plan of Confluence (if you make monthly payments) or by managing user access. We recommend that you check how many of your users need to have product access to Confluence and adjust your user access and billing accordingly.

You need to be an organization admin to manage product access for users on your site.

Remove Confluence product access for groups

To remove product access for users in a group:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com.

    1. If you're an admin for multiple sites or are an organization admin, select the site's name and URL to open the Atlassian organization for that site.

  2. Choose Products from the main navigation.

  3. Find Confluence and select Manage access.

  4. You’ll get to the product details page where you’ll see the number of billable Confluence users on your site and the different user groups that have access to Confluence.

  5. Find the group you want to remove product access for. In this scenario, you may be looking for administrators groups. Select the More menu (⋯) for the respective group. Select Remove group from product.

This ensures that nobody in this group has product access to Confluence. Refresh the page and check the number of billable users to make sure that you’ve removed all users who don’t need to have product access to Confluence.

If the group you want to remove is a default group, you’ll find that the Remove group from product option is disabled. In this case, you’ll need to select the group to get to the group details page and remove individual users from that group.

Remove Confluence product access for individual users

To remove product access for a select few individual users:

  1. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, select Directory, then Users.

  2. Select the user you want to remove product access for to go to the user details page.

  3. Under Products, select the More menu (…) next to Confluence and choose Remove product access.

This makes sure that the respective user will stop having product access to Confluence.

If a quote has already been generated for your Confluence plan, the changes you make to the number of your billable users will only reflect in your next billing cycle. Please contact us for any quote revisions.

Additional Help