• Products
  • Get started
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Should I merge Opsgenie with Jira Service Management?

If you have a separate license for both Opsgenie and Jira Service Management, you can choose to merge your products. This will simplify your billing and give all of your licensed users full access to both product's capabilities. It will also unlock some enhanced IT service management (ITSM) features. 

After merging is complete, Opsgenie will be part of Jira Service Management, and have the same bill settings. You'll be able to manage the edition plan, billing frequency, and payment details in your single Jira Service Management subscription using Admin Hub.

If you choose not to merge your products, you’ll continue to manage and pay for each product independently.

To merge you must be a Jira Service Management Cloud site admin and have owner level permissions in Opsgenie. If you're currently on a trial plan of Jira Service Management, you’ll need to complete your trial prior to starting the merge.

Merge time

In most cases your merge will be complete within a few minutes, but in some cases it could take up to 24 hours. We’ll let you know by email when the merge has successfully completed.

Features

When the merge is complete, Opsgenie and Jira Service Management will share the same edition plan. This means that some features may change, depending on whether you choose to upgrade or downgrade your Jira Service Management edition plan during or after the merge.

We’ll let you know what features will change before you merge. You can see a comparison of the features by selecting 'Compare features' on the ‘Select Plan’ page during the merge process.

After you merge, you’ll need to enable your Opsgenie features in each of your projects to continue working as usual. Once enabled in a project, all users will be able to see and access Alerts and On-call in the side project nav. Learn how to enable Alerts and On-Call in your project settings.

Some Opsgenie features are not yet supported by Jira Service Management, such as incoming call routing. In-product live chat support is also unavailable, however your Atlassian support will remain the same. If these features are important to your organization, we recommend that you continue to manage each product independently.

Heartbeat Monitoring is available in Premium and Enterprise Jira Service Management plans. In an un-merged subscription, Heartbeat Monitoring is available in Opsgenie’s Standard and Enterprise plans. Learn more about Heartbeat Monitoring.

Bi-directional Integrations with ITSM tools such as Datadog and Zendesk are not available in Free and Essentials Opsgenie plans as part of Free and Standard Jira Service Management subscriptions. Upgrade to a Premium or Enterprise Jira Service Management plan for access to this feature. In an un-merged subscription, Bi-directional Integration is available in Opsgenie’s Standard and Enterprise plans. Learn more about integrations.

Billing cost

Your recommended subscription will depend on the number of unique licensed users you have across the two products (including Opsgenie stakeholders). The billing cost of the subscription may change based on the number of unique users and the plan you choose.

Users

Before you merge, we’ll let you know how many unique users will be included in the bill for your merged Jira Service Management subscription. Users who had access to both products prior to merging will be counted as a single user.

For example, if you were previously billed for 30 separate licenses, with 25 Jira Service Desk users and 5 Opsgenie users, but 5 users have licenses for both products, your new user count would be 25 Jira Service Management licenses.

If you’re on an annual subscription, you can still merge even if it will push you over your user limit. After merging, you’ll need to remove some existing users to keep your user count below or equal to your current limit, or upgrade to a plan that supports a larger number of users. We’ll let you know your options and their costs during the merge.

Your Opsgenie stakeholders will automatically be converted to Jira Service Management users. If you don’t want your stakeholders to become licensed users, you’ll need to delete them before you merge.

Unmerging

If you’d like to unmerge your Opsgenie and Jira Service Management subscriptions, you’ll need to contact Atlassian support.

Once they're unmerged, Opsgenie and Jira Service Management will become standalone products, with separate user management and billing costs.

The subscription cost for Jira Service Management will not change unless you remove agents, and standard Opsgenie pricing will apply to the unmerged Opsgenie subscription.

Learn how to merge Opsgenie with Jira Service Management.

Last modified on Apr 23, 2021
Cached at 1:18 PM on Aug 1, 2021 |

Additional Help

Ask the Community