• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Configure custom hierarchy levels in Advanced Roadmaps

The processes described in this section are only possible with the Jira Software Administrator permissions.

Before you can use custom hierarchy levels in Advanced Roadmaps, the issue type must first be created in Jira by an administrator. Once that’s done, the issue type must be associated to your Advanced Roadmaps hierarchy.

This is a three step process:

1. Create issue type in Jira Software (if it doesn’t already exist)

  1. Select > Issues.

  2. In the left column, go to Issue types Add issue type.

  3. Enter a name and description for your new issue type.

  4. Choose between a standard or sub-task issue type.

    1.  Standard issue types are placed above the epic level (commonly Initiative and Legend) whereas Sub-task issue types are underneath the Story level alongside subtasks. 

  5. Select Add.

2. Add issue type to scheme in Jira Software

  1. Select > Issues.

  2. From the left column, select Issue type schemes.

  3. Find the relevant issue type scheme and click Edit.

  4. Edit the name, description, default issue type, and selected issue types.

    1. To add an issue type to the scheme, drag it from Available Issue Types to Issue Types for Current Scheme.

  5. When you’re done, select Save.

3. Add custom hierarchy levels to your Advanced Roadmaps plan:

  1. SelectProducts.

  2. In the menu on the left, select Advanced Roadmaps hierarchy configuration.

  3. Select or remove hierarchy levels you want to include in your plans.

  4. Select Save changes.

Your custom hierarchy levels should now be available for you to use in Advanced Roadmaps.

Grab some coffee, take a victory lap, and high-five someone. You’ve made it to the end!



Last modified on Aug 10, 2021
Cached at 12:15 AM on Sep 18, 2021 |

Additional Help