Manage the transition to the new issue view

From March 31, 2021, we’ll move all users on the old issue view to the new issue view. From early November, users on the old view will receive pop-up reminders in Jira with dates and details about the change. Learn more about our transition plan to the new issue view

We’re giving admins some control over the transition. If an earlier date suits you, you can move all of your users to the new issue view before March 31, 2021 by using the new toggles we’ve added.

When do you want to move your users to the new issue view?

March 31, 2021

No actions from you — we’ll take care of it. From early November, we’ll remind your users of the change so they get enough time to prepare, and then from March 31, 2021, we’ll move them over if they haven’t done so already.

Example pop-up reminder in Jira

Example modal of the pop-up reminder in Jira Cloud a user will receive if they're on the old issue view.

Before March 31, 2021

You can move your users to the new issue view before March 31, 2021. After that date, this option will no longer be available.

You must be a Jira admin to move your users before March 31, 2021.

To move your users all at once before our date:

  1. Go to () > Issues > New issue view transition.

  2. Toggle on Delay new issue view reminders. Since you plan to move your users to the new issue view before our date, this prevents your users from receiving the incorrect date from our pop-up reminders (example above).

  3. Using your preferred method of communication, let your users know when you’re going to move them to the new issue view, so they get a heads up on what’s coming.

  4. (Coming soon) When you’re ready, toggle on Move all users to the new issue view. (This option isn’t available yet and will be coming soon. We’re giving you some time to delay our new issue view reminders and communicate when you plan to move your users.)

Your users on the old view will receive onboarding back to the new issue view with an optional tour of key and latest features we’ve added since they’ve last seen it. They’ll still be able to click through to the old issue view to complete a task until some time after March 31, 2021 where we remove the old issue view altogether.

You can let your users move back to the old issue view until March 31, 2021, by toggling off Move all users to the new issue view. This won’t move them back automatically, but they’ll be able to switch back from their personal settings.

 

 

 

Last modified on Nov 10, 2020
Cached at 8:30 AM on Nov 25, 2020 |

Additional Help

Ask the Community