Organization admins can deactivate or delete accounts they manage for users who no longer need to use Atlassian account services. When an account is deactivated or deleted, the user will immediately lose access to Confluence and all other Atlassian account services, and we’ll stop billing for their account.
If an organization admin deactivates a user’s account, the user’s personal data will remain in Atlassian account services, and the admin can reactivate their account at any time.
If an organization admin deletes a user’s account, we’ll delete the user’s personal data from Atlassian account services, and no one will be able to reactivate their account.
An organization admin can delete a previously deactivated account if they decide to later.
When you delete a user’s account, we’ll permanently delete their personal data from all Atlassian account services. Their name will be replaced by Former user throughout Confluence, and their Confluence personal space will be archived.
We won’t delete:
Pages, blog posts, comments, or files. To manually delete the content they’ve created, users will need to follow the instructions in Delete, restore, or purge a page.
Personal data in user-generated content. If the user’s personal data, such as their name, email address, or phone number, appears in the text of a Confluence Cloud page, it will remain on Confluence Cloud until the page or the site is deleted. To delete personal data from a page, blog post, or comment, the user will need to find the content using global search, then edit it to manually remove their data.
Once an account has been deleted, both the account and the personal data in it are gone forever.
How they'll appear
This is what the deleted user will look like to other Confluence users once their account is deleted: