robotsnoindex


Archiving a page lets you take an outdated or no-longer-relevant piece of content and store it away from your daily workspace. When you archive a page, you not only remove it from the page tree, you also remove it from quick search. This offers several benefits:

  • Makes it easier for you and your team to find what’s relevant to your current work

  • Reassures people who rely on your content that it’s accurate and up-to-date

  • Keeps your page tree neat and presentable

Jump to:

What happens when a page is archived

Archiving a page removes it from your page tree and stores it in the archive. Archived pages are excluded from quick search, advanced search, and analytics to keep those functions focused and relevant.

Links to archived pages will still work. These links will have an “Archived” lozenge next to it, letting users know it’s a link to an archived page.

You’ll get an email notification if someone else archives a page you created.

Archiving a page disables certain actions, some of which include page editing, commenting, and liking the page. This is designed to preserve the state of pages at the time they’re archived. To get this functionality back, simply restore the page from the archive.

Find archived pages

To navigate to your space’s archive, scroll to the bottom of the page tree and select Archived pages

Anyone with space access can view the space’s archived pages. Page restrictions still apply, though, which means anyone who doesn’t have permission to view an archived page will neither see it in the archived pages list, nor be able to access it through a direct link.

Each space has its own archive; there is no site-level archive for pages. When you archive a page in a particular space, it goes to that space’s archive.

Likewise, restored pages return to that space’s page tree. From there, you can move them to another space.

Archive a page

  1. Navigate to the page you want to archive 

  2. Open the More actions menu (•••)

  3. Click Archive


Before archiving a page, be sure to check if it has inherited permissions. If it does, then the page is relying on one of its parent pages to control who can view and you might be exposing it to a wider audience by archiving it. To avoid this, set view restrictions on the page you’re archiving.


Archive a page with all of its nested pages (Premium only)

When archiving a page on the premium plan, you’ll have the option to include any nested pages the selected parent page may have—all in one archiving action. This offers you the ability to archive entire branches of your page tree at once.

Keep in mind that nested archiving is an all or nothing action. You can choose to archive all the nested pages (that you have permission to archive), or none of them; there’s no middle ground. If you’d like to keep any of the selected page’s nested pages in the page tree, consider moving them so they’re not nested under it anymore.

Any nested page you don’t have permission to archive (or view) will remain in the page tree and move up according to the new hierarchy (assuming you choose to continue with the nested archive action).

Watch out for inherited permissions on nested pages. Any nested pages “left behind” in the page tree as a result of a nested archive action will have a new parent page. If any pages that are left behind don’t have view restrictions set on them, you could be exposing content to a wider audience than intended.

All pages archived together will maintain their hierarchy in the archived pages list, to preserve the context in which they were organized in the page tree.

Who can archive a page

There are two archiving permissions:

  • permission to archive any page in a space

  • permission to archive only your own pages

Give user permission to archive any page in a space

The “Archive” space permission grants the ability to archive any page in the space. This also covers restoring pages back to the page tree. Any page you can archive, you can restore too.

Even with the space-level archive permission, you can’t archive a page you don’t have permission to view.

Only space admins can assign archiving permissions. To assign the space-level archive permission:

  1. Go to Space settings

  2. Click Permissions in the primary tab menu

  3. Under the “Groups” or “Individual Users” header, click Edit Permissions

  4. Click into the search field at the bottom of either section and search for the user or group

  5. Click Add

  6. Make sure to check the box for Archive under the Pages column

  7. Click Save all at the bottom of the page

Give user permission to archive their own pages

The archive own permission grants the ability for people to archive any page they created, and only pages they created.

Anyone who has the “Add pages” permission automatically has the “Archive own” permission. This permission grants the ability for people to archive and restore any page they have created.

It also means you can restore any page that you created.

Limited actions available on an archived page

To preserve the state of pages at the time they’re archived, some page actions will be disabled. If you want to take a disabled action on an archived page, first restore it to the page tree.

Action

Available for archived pages

(assuming page permissions allow)

Edit page

(error)

Move page

(error)

Duplicate page(error)

Like page

(error)

Share page(error)
Add / Edit / Reply to comments (inline and page)(error)

Like comments (inline and page)

(error)

Resolve / Delete comments (inline and page)

(error)

View page in hierarchy

(error)

Compare page versions and revert

(error)

View page

(tick)

View comments (inline and page)

(tick)

Watch / Unwatch page

(tick)

Star / Unstar page

(tick)

Add / Remove labels

(tick)

Delete page

(tick)

View page restrictions

(tick)

Edit restrictions

(tick)

View attachments

(tick)

Add / Edit / Delete attachments

(tick)

View page history

(tick)

Analytics

(tick)

Page information

(tick)

View resolved comments

(tick)

Link to this page

(tick)

View source

(tick)

Import Word document

(tick)

Export to PDF

(tick)

Export to Word

(tick)

Tasks on a page

(tick)

Slack notifications

(tick)

Restore

(tick)