Delete your Atlassian account

You can delete your Atlassian account. You’ll have a 14-day grace period following the deletion request, during which the account will appear as temporarily deactivated. You can cancel the deletion in this time. Once this period ends, the account will be permanently deleted.

This page explains how to delete your own Atlassian account.

What will be deleted with my account?

If you delete your account, you’ll no longer be able to access Atlassian products or services with that account. You won’t be able to raise technical support tickets at support.atlassian.com, access your profile at my.atlassian.com, or post at community.atlassian.com.

After you delete your account, personal data will be also deleted from all Atlassian services accessed by your account within 30 days, unless we're required to keep it for legitimate business or legal purposes. We may need to retain information related to purchases, records showing that we deleted your account, or data that’s part of an active lawsuit.

Data that will be deleted

Data that won’t be deleted

Full name, public name and email address

Content you created with Atlassian account services, such as pages, issues, and comments you created in Atlassian products.

Job title, department and organization

Any personal data mentioned in content that’s been created, such as names or email addresses typed into a page or issue.

Atlassian profile picture, location and time zone

Your profile information that might have been stored in Marketplace and custom apps installed in products.

Deleting your Atlassian account doesn’t delete Jira Align, Opsgenie, or Halp accounts. To delete your Jira Align account, email Agile support at jira-align-support@atlassian.com. To delete your Opsgenie account, see Delete your Opsgenie account. To delete your Halp account, email Halp support at support@halp.com.

Delete your account

To delete an account:

  1. Access your Account settings at id.atlassian.com/manage-profile.

  2. Select Account preferences.

  3. Navigate to the Delete your account section and select Delete account.

  4. Before you delete the account, carefully read what happens to the deleted account.

  5. Select Delete account and confirm you want to delete it in the confirmation dialog that appears.

What happens after an account is deleted?

During the 14-day grace period following an account deletion request, other users will still see your name in product along with a Deactivated lozenge. When your account is permanently deleted, Former user will appear in place of your name along with a Deleted lozenge.

Although personal data will be deleted from Atlassian services and products following an account deletion, some data from your profile may still be retained in Marketplace apps even after you delete your account.

To find out if your profile information has been stored in a Marketplace app:

  1. Check your inbox for an email from Atlassian confirming that your account was deleted.

  2. Select the Marketplace listing link in the confirmation email.

  3. Refer to the vendor privacy policy.

  4. Contact the organization’s admins or support team to confirm if any of the listed apps have stored your information.

Restore your deleted account

If you change your mind, you can restore your account before the 14-day grace period is over. Once the grace period ends, your account will be permanently deleted and you won’t be able to restore it.

To restore an account:

  1. Log in to your account at https://id.atlassian.com/.

  2. Select Cancel deletion from the screen that appears.

Your account will now be restored and you’ll be able to log in to all services and products you have previously accessed.

Additional Help