The Free plan is for small teams of fewer than 10 people who are just getting started with Confluence. Confluence is completely open to logged-in users when you’re on the Free plan. That means everyone who can log in to your Confluence site can view, add, and edit spaces and pages.

While Confluence is open to logged-in users, anonymous access isn’t available on the Free plan. Only users who log in to your Confluence site can access it. 

To take advantage of Confluence permissions, restrictions, or anonymous access, upgrade your plan.

When you change from Standard or Premium to Free 

When you change from Confluence Cloud Premium or Standard to Free, you’ll no longer be able to set permissions and restrictions. Here’s what you can expect when you change to the Free plan:

  • We’ll keep any global permissions, space permissions, and page restrictions you’ve already set. If needed, you’ll still be able to open up spaces and pages to all users.

  • We’ll reset your site’s default space permissions. When new spaces are created, all users will be able to view the spaces, add pages to them, and more. (As mentioned above, we’ll keep the permissions you’ve already set on existing spaces.)

  • If your site allowed anonymous users, they’ll no longer be able to access it.

To set new permissions, you'll need to go back to one of our paid plans.

This information also applies when you migrate from Confluence Server to Confluence Cloud Free. For more information, see Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant.

Open up a space to all users

After you switch to the Free plan, any permissions you’ve set on a space will remain in place. If needed, you can open up the space to all users. This will let anyone with access to your Confluence site view the space, add pages to it, and more.

You won’t be able to undo this action. If you need to reset the space permissions, you’ll have to go back to one of our paid plans.

  1. Click the space’s name in the sidebar.

  2. Click Space settings Permissions.

  3. In the Upgrade for space permissions box, click Grant all users permissions for this space.

  4. Click Grant permissions.

Open up a page to all users

After you switch to the Free plan, any restrictions you’ve set on a page will remain in place. If needed, you can open up the page to all users. This will let anyone with access to your Confluence site view and edit the page.

You won’t be able to undo this action. If you need to reset the page’s restrictions, you’ll have to go back to one of our paid plans.

  1. Click the lock icon (or ) at the top of the page. 

  2. In the Upgrade for page restrictions box, click Remove this page’s restrictions.

  3. Click Remove restrictions.

If you’re a space admin, you can use the Restricted pages tab to open up a page in your space to all users by removing any restriction from the page. (When you remove one restriction from a page, you’re actually removing all restrictions from the page.)

This will remove all restrictions from the page. You won’t be able to undo this action. If you need to reset the page’s restrictions, you’ll have to go back to one of our paid plans.

  1. Navigate to the desired space using the Spaces menu in the navigation or from the Home page.

  2. Click Space settings Permissions > Restricted pages.

  3. Click the lock icon () next to the page whose restrictions you want to remove. This will remove all restrictions from the page.

  4. Click Remove restrictions.