How to Transfer Board Memberships to a New Account

Use this tool to transfer board membership from one Trello user account to another.

The board membership transfer tool allows you to view and select one or more boards that you’re a member of, and easily add another Trello user account to the selected boards. This can be helpful instead of having to open each board individually and manually invite the other account.

Additionally, there is an option to remove the original user account from the board(s) at the time of transferring board membership.

Use cases

You have two Trello user accounts. One is a personal account and one is a work account. Each account has access to different boards and you’d like to be able to view some of the same boards while logged into either of these user accounts.

You’d like to quickly and easily add a colleague to several boards at once. This helps when it’s time to hand over projects to someone else.

PLEASE NOTE:

  • The transfer tool does not make a copy of the boards, so do not delete the boards on the original account.

  • This tool does not move boards from one Workspace to another.

  • If the 'remove account' option is not selected, the original account will still retain access to the boards. 

  • The account you're transferring board membership to will not be assigned to any cards from the other account.

  • The account you’re transferring board membership to must have confirmed their email address using the email verification link sent when signing up.

Follow these steps to use the transfer tool. Make sure you have two Trello accounts: the one you’re transferring boards from and the one you’re transferring boards to. If needed, create a new account first.

  1. Log into the account you’re transferring boards from.

  2. Go to https://trello.com/support/transfer-boards. Make sure to enter the correct username or email address for the account you’re transferring boards to. That account will be added as a member to the boards you select.

  3. Select the boards you’d like to transfer.

  4. If you'd like the original account to be removed from the boards, select Remove your account @X from boards after they've been transferred to @Y. By selecting that, your original account will no longer be able to access those boards.

  5. Once you click on the Transfer Boards button, the new account will be added as a member to the boards.

If you didn’t select the original member account to be removed from the boards in step 5, you can always do it later by logging in to the original member account, accessing the boards, and manually leaving each board. Learn how to manually leave a board here.

Frequently asked questions

  • Does this tool move the board to another Workspace?

No, this tool does not move a board from one Workspace into another.

  • Will I still have the same notifications and due dates after I transfer?

The account you're transferring boards to will not be assigned to any cards. To receive notifications and due date alerts under the account you're transferring boards to, click ‘Watch’ on those cards.

  • Is there anything else that might not transfer over that I should look for?

Reactions, votes, and Power-Up settings may be lost. Consider reviewing these options after using the tool if you’ve used them before.

  • I’m an admin of the board that I’m transferring. Will the person I’m transferring board membership to become a board admin?

Yes. If you’re a board admin, the person that you transfer board membership to will become a board admin as well.

However, if you are not a board admin, the person that you transfer board membership to will not automatically become a board admin.

  • Will this affect the number of Collaborators in a Workspace?

Yes. Be mindful of the number of Collaborators in a free Workspace. If you add a new member to a board, they’ll count towards the Collaborator limit for Workspaces on our Free plan. You can find out more about this here.

Other questions? Reach out to Trello Support via https://trello.com/contact

 

Additional Help