A default Workspace is the first Workspace new Enterprise users will be a member of, and allow them to use Enterprise features immediately. After you grant a license to a new Enterprise member, they’ll automatically be added to the default Workspace.
How a default Workspace works
Default Workspaces work like other Enterprise Workspaces, except that:
New Enterprise members will be added to the default workspace. Existing Enterprise members won’t be added automatically.
Claiming a non-Enterprise Workspace or a Workspace with a pending upgrade request won’t add its members to the Default Workspace too. Learn about upgrading Workspaces.
If your default Workspace reaches its member limit of 4000 members, a new default Workspace will be created automatically. You can create or select a new default Workspace before it reaches the member limit if you want to avoid this.
Once they are granted a license, new Enterprise members can use premium Trello features and will be subject to any security restrictions you’ve set.
Change the default Workspace in your Enterprise
Select or create a new Workspace that has:
Enough space for new members.
Workspace membership restrictions that allow for members you might have to add in the future. Learn how to edit your Workspace settings.
To change your default Workspace:
Go to your Trello Enterprise Admin Dashboard.
On the left, under Workspaces, click Default Workspace.
Select a new default Workspace.
What happens when you change your default Workspace
When you grant a license to new members, they’ll automatically be added to your new default Workspace. Members of the former default Workspace won’t be moved to the new default Workspace.