Moving to Workspaces

Since its creation, Trello's standard organizational structure for boards has been a Trello Workspaces ( What are Workspaces?). Trello Teams act as a container for multiple boards that typically fit within a similar theme. They also provide a way to give multiple people access to multiple boards, without having to invite them to each board individually.

The name “Team” gives an expectation that it must be used with a group of people. Contrary to popular belief, Trello Teams can consist of a single person and contain boards that are not shared with anyone. To help remove this expectation, the name Team is being changed to Workspace.

With this new terminology, we are requiring that all boards must exist within a Workspace.

Teams to Workspaces

The concept and functionality of a Workspace is the same as a Trello Team, in that it acts as a container for boards, but the new name does not imply a group of people is required or expected for it. A Workspace can be used to contain boards for vacation planning, freelance work, or any other possible usage that only consists of a single user.

It can of course still be used with multiple people as well, for instance, a marketing Workspace, a games night Workspace, etc.

Note that only personal boards will be affected by this change. A personal board is a board that is not currently associated with any Trello Workspace.

How do I know if I have personal boards?

To check for personal boards, go to the Trello Home page by selecting the home button in the top left of Trello's header bar and select "Boards" from the lefthand menu. Alternatively, go to  https://trello.com/my/boards. Any personal boards will be shown in the highlighted section of the home page.

Admin permissions: You must be an admin of a personal board to migrate it to a Workspace. If another user is the admin of a personal board, it would be their responsibility to migrate it.

Personal boards

If all boards are already in a Workspace(s), there will be no migration required.

Creating a New Workspace

The first step will be to either create a new Workspace or select one that already exists. The default prompt will recommend a new pre-named Workspace, which can be edited, however selecting the text under the default name will allow another to be selected.

Adding Boards to a Workspace

The next step on the same page is to choose the boards that will be added to the Workspace. By default, all boards will be selected.

If more than 10 personal boards are selected, that will exceed the 10 board limit of free Workspaces, and a free trial of Premium will be recommended on the next page. Alternatively, a selection of only 10 or fewer boards can be selected for the Workspace, then the migration process can be repeated for each additional Workspace.

Each of these options is walked through in the sections further below:

The renamed Workspace and the boards selected for it.

Adding Members to a Workspace

Once the appropriate boards are selected, the next step is to choose which members of those boards to add to the selected Workspace. If the selected personal boards have no other members, this step will automatically be skipped.

There are 3 possible permissions that can be set for the current board members:

  • Guests - The default selection. A guest can only access the boards they are already a member of.

  • Workspace Member - A member of the Workspace can view any other boards set to Workspace-visible in the next step.

  • Workspace Admin - Only available if the Premium trial is chosen for the Workspace. A Workspace admin in Premium will be permitted to access all boards in the Workspace, can change Workspace-level settings, and can add or remove other Workspace members: Team Admin Capabilities.

Changing Board Visibility

After members, the visibility of the selected boards can be changed. A personal board can only be set as Private or Public, but a board in a Workspace can also be set as Workspace-visible.

The three visibility settings are:

  • Private - The default setting. Private boards are only accessible to the members currently within it. 

  • Workspace-visible - A Workspace-visible board is accessible to all members of the Workspace.

  • Public - A Public board is accessible to anyone with a link to the board and discoverable via a Google search.

Worried you missed a detail? That’s okay, you can visit any Workspace(s) and review its boards, members, settings, etc. To do so, select the Workspace from the Trello Home page, then select the specific details you want to view.


Moving all Personal Boards to one Workspace

Free Workspaces are limited to 10 open boards at a time. A Workspace upgraded to Standard or Premium can have an unlimited number of open boards. If a paid Workspace is downgraded from the trial by its expiring or by the cancellation of the subscription, the Workspace will be considered free. As a result, all but the 10 most active boards will be closed in the Workspace. Closed boards can always be reopened, provided there is room in the Workspace.


Manual Migration of Boards

Workspaces can be created in Trello as normal, then boards can be individually moved into them. 

Jim has 16 boards but he isn’t sure where each should belong. He knows some boards are for work related purposes, and others are for his own personal use. 

Instead of using the Wizard, he creates a new Workspace manually, named something like “My Work Boards”. He can also create another Workspace named, “My Personal Boards”.

Jim can then go to each board to check its contents and confirm what it is related to. If the board is work related, he can move it into the “My Work Boards” Workspace. 

If the board has personal content, he can move it into the “My Personal Boards” Workspace. He can repeat those steps for every board until all are properly categorized.

If you aren't familiar with creating Workspaces or moving boards in Trello, please read our respective help articles here:


FAQ

Free Workspaces have a 10 board limit - Does this mean I no longer have unlimited boards for free?

No, all Trello users still have the ability to create an unlimited number of boards for free. However, an additional free Workspace will need to be created for every 10 boards.

What is the difference between Teams and Workspaces?

The only difference is the name. There is no difference in the functionality of a Team versus a Workspace.

I don't want/need a Workspace. Can I opt-out of this change and still create personal boards?

No, it is not possible to opt out. All boards must be in a Workspace.

There are some personal boards that I cannot move. Why not?

You will only be asked to migrate personal boards you are an admin of.

There are multiple admins on a personal board. Who should migrate the board?

If multiple board admins are present, they will all be prompted to migrate the board. The first admin to do so would complete the process for everyone. Note that doing so would not revoke other board admins' permissions.



Additional Help