• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Transfer all products to another organization

This page does not apply if you have the improved user management experience.

From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience and transferring products is disabled. Contact Support to transfer your products to another organization or add a new product to your organization.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

There are a number of factors that determine whether you can transfer all product instances and merge your organizations. This largely comes down to the complexity of the organization, and whether you have the new user management experience. Learn whether you can merge organizations

1. Plan for the transfer

Before you begin, take some time to make sure you understand all the implications of merging two organizations. Can I merge my Atlassian organizations?

We also recommend you take some time to plan your transfer and communicate the changes to product admins in advance:

  • Inform product admins that you’re transferring their product to another organization
    This transfer won’t impact their roles or how they administer products, but it may impact their users if the configuration of the new organization is different.

  • Review admins for both organizations
    Anyone who is an organization admin in the original organization will become an organization admin of the destination organization, which means they’ll become a site admin for all sites. If you don’t want someone to have these rights, remove their organization admin role before the transfer.

  • Review your existing setup and recreate any required configurations in the destination organization
    As part of the transfer process, you’ll be required to remove most of the unwanted organization’s configurations and subscriptions. We recommend you make a note of your existing setup, so you can recreate any required configuration in your destination organization.

Transfer checklist: configurations and subscriptions you’ll need to remove

Before you can begin the transfer, you’ll be prompted to remove the following configurations and subscriptions, if present.

Because some of these changes will impact the way users log in, you may want to remove the existing setup immediately before starting the transfer.

Security configuration

Subscriptions and plans

Domains

  • Remove all verified and unverified domains from the Domains page. After the transfer, you can reverify your domains in the new organization.
    Learn how to remove domains

  • Remove both verified and unverified email domains from the Emails page under Email domains. After the transfer, you can add these email domains to the new organization.
    Learn how to remove an email domain

User invites

2. Transfer all products

These steps only apply if both of your organizations do not have the new user management experience. (if your  Users list and Groups list appear under the Directory tab in admin.atlassian.com you have the improved user management).

If you have the new user management experience, there are some options. Learn whether you can merge organizations

You need to be an organization administrator in both organizations to do this. You also need to have completed the preparation we recommend above.

The transfer process is permanent and can’t be undone.

To transfer all product instances from one organization to another:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one. You should select the organization you no longer want to use.

  2. Select Settings > Details.

  3. Make sure you’ve completed all the tasks in the pre-transfer checklist.

  4. Select Transfer products and follow the steps. We’ll walk you through selecting the destination organization and reviewing your changes before you confirm the transfer.

Once the product instances have been transferred, we’ll delete the empty organization.

Access for your users will be uninterrupted, but they may notice some differences logging in if your single sign-on configuration is different in the destination organization.

The transfer checklist lists any configuration or subscriptions that must be removed before you can transfer all products.

You can now proceed to recreate any API keys, allowlists, domains, and other configurations in the destination organization if you’ve not already done so.

What will change after I transfer all products to another organization?

It’s important to know what to expect after you transfer all products and merge organizations.

Things that won’t change

  • Users won’t experience downtime or loss of access.

  • Users keep the same product access and permissions.

  • Product admins of transferred products will remain product admins of those product instances.

  • Site admins of transferred sites remain site admins of those sites.

  • Organization admins of the destination organization will remain organization administrators.

  • Transferred products retain their URLs, permissions, projects, spaces, controls, and apps.

  • Transferred products remain separate. If both organizations had the same products, you’ll have multiple product instances after the transfer (nothing will be merged).

  • You will have the same number of bills (except for Atlassian Access) as bills for transferred products will remain separate.

  • Product bills will still be organized by site.

Things that will change

  • Anyone with the organization admin role in the original organization will become an organization admin in the destination organization and will be added as a site admin for all associated sites.

  • The Overview and Products tabs in admin.atlassian.com will list all products in the merged organization.

  • The unwanted organization will no longer appear on the landing page at admin.atlassian.com.

  • Your bill may increase if organization admins added as part of the transfer get product access they previously didn't have. (If you don't want to pay for their access, you can update their admin and product permissions after the transfer is complete).

  • The way users log in may temporarily change. A user may need to set a password to log in after SSO is turned off in the unwanted organization, but before the transfer is complete and SSO set up in the new organization.

  • If you were required to switch back to the old user management to complete the transfer, you will notice differences in the navigation at admin.atlassian.com.

Additional Help