• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Copy Confluence data

We've made some changes to the Copy product data feature:

 

Before you start copying Confluence data, you may want to understand:

Who can do this?

You need to have both permissions:

  • Organization admin

  • Product admin

To copy Confluence data, you must first create a copy plan. A copy plan is a collection of spaces and related data such as pages, configurations, and settings. As part of the open beta, we automatically include all users and groups in a plan. Depending on the number of spaces you add, the time it takes to copy varies. You can create multiple plans and copy a small number of spaces in each plan to minimize downtime.

To start copying data:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Settings > Data management > Copy product data.

  3. Select Create copy plan.

  4. On the How it works page, select Next.

Choose your source and destination

You can copy data from one instance of Confluence, known as the source, to another instance, known as the destination. The destination can be a new instance of Confluence without any data or an instance with existing data.

The dropdown menus for selecting the source and destination display the Confluence instances for which you are an organization admin.

  1. Select the source and destination.

  2. Name your plan. If you create multiple plans, you’ll be able to track the progress of a plan by this name.

  3. Select Next.

Select the spaces you want to copy

We include pages, attachments, and configurations with the spaces you select. Learn more about what we copy and what we don’t

  1. Select the spaces you want to copy.

  2. Select Next.

Select users and groups

To copy users and groups:

  1. On the Copy users and groups page, select an option to copy users and groups from the Users and groups section:

Option

Description

Copy users and groups related to the selected spaces

Copy only users and groups that are referenced in the spaces you added to your plan. This includes inactive or deleted users, users who commented or are mentioned on pages, created or updated pages, or users who created or modified global templates. View the complete list of users we copy when you select this option

Optionally, you can include users who don’t directly contribute to the spaces, but are members of groups of users who contribute to the spaces.

Copy all Confluence users and groups

Copy all users and groups from your Confluence users directory. This includes deleted users who appear as Former users.

2. On the Group memberships section, select whether to migrate users and groups separately or together:

Option

Description

Copy users and groups separately

Copy users and groups without adding users to any groups. Users won’t have access to any products or spaces, and won’t consume the license.

We'll merge groups with the same names. Existing users in the destination may get unwanted permissions. Understand how permissions can change when copying groups

Copy users with their groups

Group membership will be preserved, which means users users will get access to products or spaces and will count towards your license.

Learn more about managing users and groups when copying your product data

Validate data

Before you can start copying, you’ll need to run checks to identify potential problems or unwanted settings. When you reach this step, we create and save the plan, and it’ll appear on the dashboard.

When you copy data, we check for common problems, but you may find other problems. If you’re unable to fix any problem, contact support.

This table describes the data that we check:

Issue

Description

Count of users, Free plans, and group membership configuration

With a Free plan, you can copy up to 10 users when you copy groups with users added to them. To copy more than 10 users, copy users and groups separately, or upgrade plan. More about copying data with Free plans

Apps installed on destination

To accurately link your data, you must have the same apps on your source and destination.

Duplicate spaces

Each space must have a unique key, including any key that was changed in the past.

Groups on destination site

We check if you have groups with the same names in your source and destination when you select the option to copy users with their groups.

Spaces with public access

We copy space permissions as they’re configured on your source. When you make your spaces available to anonymous users, anyone on the internet will be able to find and access your content.

Statuses and what they mean

When we finish checking your data, we mark the results with a status, indicating whether any attention is required.

Status

What it means

Check

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific space. You can copy data, but we recommend that you review the warning.

Fix

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific space in your copy plan. You’ll need to resolve the error before you can copy data.

Ready

You’re good to go! You have no warnings or problems to resolve, and you can start copying data.

Once you’ve fixed all the problems, select Copy data. You’ll be redirected to the dashboard where you can track and monitor the progress.

Use the dashboard

While you copy data, you can monitor the progress by keeping track of the status of a plan. There are five possible statuses.

Status

What it means

Queued

Data included in this plan is next in queue to be copied.

Running

Data included in this plan is currently being copied.

Complete

Data included in this plan was successfully copied.

Incomplete

Data included in this plan was partially copied. For example, this could mean that 10 out of 15 users were copied.

Failed

Data included in this plan could not be copied.

We only store data for 14 days from the day a plan is created. After 14 days, the plan expires and appears grayed out on the dashboard. The Expires column allows you to track the number of days remaining for the plan to expire. Learn more about privacy and data protection when you copy product data

View detailed progress and status of a plan

When you copy data, you can monitor the progress and view the statuses of users, groups, and spaces you’ve included in a plan. You can’t view details of expired plans or plans that have products under an organization for which you don’t have organization admin permissions.

There are two ways you can view plan details.

  • Select the plan name, or

  • Select More actions (•••) > Show details.

The plan details include:

  • Source and the destination URLs.

  • Summary of the plan that includes the status of the plan, the number of spaces you’ve selected, and the total number of pages included with those spaces. You can also see details of who created the plan, the time the plan was created, and the time you last validated the data.

  • Progress and status of users, groups, and spaces you’ve selected.

After copying your data

Onboard your users

If you chose to add users to the group separately, you’ll need to add users to their relevant groups to give them product access. Learn more about giving users product access

Users won’t get an email notification when they’re copied to another site. When you’re ready, you can invite your users by going to Administration > Users > Resend invite from your destination site. Alternatively, you can also give users a link to the destination site and they will be able to log in directly. Learn more about inviting users

Decide to keep or cancel your product subscription

Once you’ve copied your data, we recommend you keep the product for a few months before canceling your subscription. If you’re concerned about additional billing, you can cancel your product subscription.

To cancel your product subscription:

  1. Go to Administration > Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  2. Select Cancel subscription for the product you want to cancel.

Learn more about canceling subscriptions

    Still need help?

    The Atlassian Community is here for you.