• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Copy Jira data

We’re making some changes to the Copy product data feature:

 

Before you start copying Jira data, you may want to understand:

 

Who can do this?

  • Organization admins

To copy Jira data, you must first create a copy plan. A copy plan is a collection of projects and related data such as issues, configurations, and settings. You can copy all users or users related to projects you want to copy. Depending on the number of projects you add, the time it takes to copy varies. You can create multiple plans and copy a small number of projects in each plan to minimize downtime. Learn more about our soft limit recommendations for copying Jira data

To start copying data:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Settings > Data management > Copy product data.

  3. Select Create copy plan.

  4. On the How it works page, select Next.

  5. From the Select a product page, select Jira.

Choose your source and destination

You can copy data from one instance of Jira, known as the source, to another instance, known as the destination. The destination can be a new instance of Jira without any data or an instance with existing data.

The dropdown menus for selecting the source and destination display the Jira instances for which you are an organization admin.

  1. Select the source and destination.

  2. Name your plan. If you create multiple plans, you’ll be able to track the progress of a plan by this name.

  3. Select Next.

Select the projects you want to copy

We include pages, attachments, and configurations with the projects you select. After you select projects you want to migrate, select Next.

Select users and groups

To copy users and groups:

  1. On the Copy users and groups page, select an option to copy users and groups from the Users and groups section:

Option

Description

Copy users and groups related to the selected projects

Copy only users and groups that are referenced in the projects you added to your plan. This includes users, groups, or roles referenced in standard or custom fields, user-generated content, workflows, and permission schemes.

Optionally, you can include users not directly referenced in the projects, but are members of groups that are referenced in the project.

Copy all Jira users and groups

Copy all users and groups from your Jira users directory. This includes deleted users who will appear as former users.

2. On the Group memberships section, select whether to migrate users and groups separately or together:

Option

Description

Copy users and groups separately

Copy users and groups without adding users to any groups. Users won’t have access to any products or projects, and won’t consume the license.

We'll merge groups with the same names. Existing users in the destination may get unwanted permissions. Understand how permissions can change when copying groups

Copy users with their groups

Group membership will be preserved, which means users users will get access to products or projects and will count towards your license.

Learn more about managing users and groups when copying your product data

3. Select Next.

Validate data

Before you can start copying, you need to run checks to identify potential problems or unwanted settings. At this step, we create and save the plan, and it’ll appear on the dashboard.

We’ve described some of the checks we do below:

User license on the destination

The number of users added to groups after migration should be up to the maximum allowed under the plan you’ve subscribed to on your destination. If you need to increase the user limit, upgrade your plan.

Learn more about how we copy users when you've subscribed to Free plans

Apps installed on destination

We recommend that your destination has the same apps as your source. These apps may either be Marketplace apps or apps you might have built and installed.

Duplicate projects on the destination

We can’t copy projects with the same keys, so you’ll need to remove them from the plan or delete them from the destination. Project keys are case insensitive, so we treat upper- and lower-case letters as being the same.

Groups with same names on the destination

We run this check only if you chose to preserve membership. We’ll check if there are groups with the same names on the destination.

Projects with public access

We copy project permissions as they’re configured on your source. When you make your projects available to anonymous users, this means anyone on the internet will be able to find and access your content. If you don’t want anonymous people to access this data on your destination, update the permissions on your source site.

When you copy data, we check for common problems, but you may find other problems. If you’re unable to fix any problem, contact support.

Statuses and what they mean

When we finish checking your data, we mark the results with a status, indicating whether any attention is required.

Status

What it means

Fix

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific project in your copy plan. You’ll need to resolve the error before you can copy data.

Check

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific project. You can copy data, but we recommend that you review the warning.

Ready

You’re good to go! You have no warnings or problems to resolve, and you can start copying data.

Once you’ve fixed all the problems, select Next.

Review your selections

The Review your selections page allows you to review your copy plan. You can see the number of projects you’ve selected, the total size of attachments, and the estimated time it’ll take to finish copying. Below the summary, you’ll see a breakdown of the projects, users, and groups you’ve selected.

When you’re ready to copy data, select Copy data. You’ll be redirected to the dashboard where you can track and monitor the progress.

Use the dashboard

While you copy data, you can monitor the progress by keeping track of the status of a plan. There are five possible statuses.

Status

What it means

Queued

Data included in this plan is next in queue to be copied.

Running

Data included in this plan is currently being copied.

Complete

Data included in this plan was successfully copied.

Incomplete

Data included in this plan was partially copied. For example, this could mean that 10 out of 15 projects were copied.

Failed

Data included in this plan could not be copied.

We store data for 14 days from the day a plan is created. After 14 days, the plan expires. The Expires column allows you to track the number of days remaining for the plan to expire. Learn more about privacy and data protection when you copy product data

View detailed progress and status of a plan

When you copy data, you can monitor the progress and view the statuses of users, groups, and projects you’ve included in a plan. You can’t view details of expired plans or plans that have products under an organization for which you don’t have organization admin permissions.

There are two ways you can view plan details.

  • Select the plan name, or

  • Select More actions (•••) > Show details.

The plan details include:

  • Source and the destination URLs.

  • Summary of the plan that includes the status of the plan, the number of projects you’ve selected, and the total number of issues included with those projects. You can also see details of who created the plan, the time the plan was created, and the time you last validated the data.

  • Progress and status of users, groups, and projects you’ve selected.

After copying your data

Onboard your users

If you chose to add users to the group separately, you’ll need to add users to their relevant groups to give them product access. Learn more about giving users product access

Users won’t get an email notification when they’re copied to another site. When you’re ready, you can invite your users by going to Administration > Users > Resend invite from your destination site. Alternatively, you can also give users a link to the destination site and they will be able to log in directly. Learn more about inviting users

Decide to keep or cancel your product subscription

Once you’ve copied your data, we recommend you keep the product for a few months before canceling your subscription. If you’re concerned about additional billing, you can cancel your product subscription.

To cancel your product subscription:

  1. Go to Administration > Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  2. Select Cancel subscription for the product you want to cancel.

Learn more about canceling subscriptions

    Still need help?

    The Atlassian Community is here for you.