New to administering Atlassian cloud products? Learn about Atlassian organizations and what it means to be an organization admin.
Delete a sandbox
This will erase all data, configuration, apps, and app licenses. It can’t be undone, but you can create new sandboxes at any time. Deleting your sandbox will not delete your product.
To delete a sandbox:
Under Actions in the product table, select Delete sandbox.
When you delete a sandbox, it transitions into an offline state that can be restored within 30 days.
After 30 days in the offline state, the sandbox is permanently deleted with all its data.
When you create a new sandbox for a product, you can choose a product that already has a sandbox in an offline state. The offline sandbox will be immediately deleted and overwritten by the new sandbox. For example, when you create a Confluence sandbox and then delete it, it will go into an offline state. Then, if you create a new Confluence sandbox, it will overwrite the existing offline sandbox.
All Jira products are linked together as they are part of Jira family. Hence, when you create a new Jira sandbox, all the offline Jira product sandboxes are deleted. For example, if you have a Jira Software offline sandbox, and you want to create a new Jira Service Management sandbox, then creating the new sandbox will overwrite the offline Jira Software sandbox. Learn more about the Jira family of products
Your sandbox lifecycle is linked to your production environment lifecycle, so if your product is destroyed or is no longer on a Premium plan, your sandbox will be destroyed. Sandbox data and configuration can’t be restored after it is deleted.
The Jira Cloud product family is built on top of the Jira platform, for this reason when you delete any Jira sandbox, all Jira sandboxes associated with your site URL will be deleted.
Clear data from a sandbox
Currently, the only way to clear all data from a sandbox is to delete it and create a new one.