• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Should I merge my Atlassian organizations?

If your company has more than one Atlassian organization, you may want to consolidate them so your products, users, and bills are all managed from the same place.

This is done by transferring all product instances in one organization to another. After the transfer, the unwanted organization is deleted.

Diagram. All product instances from ‘Springfield’ organization transferred to ‘Acme’ organization.

There are a number of reasons you may end up with multiple organizations, such as structural changes in your company, a merger or acquisition of another business, or product use growing organically in different teams. The way you sign up for a new product can also result in unwanted organizations. Learn how to add a new product to your organization

Whether you should maintain multiple organizations or consolidate them depends on:

  • whether it makes business sense for your teams, and

  • if it’s technically possible for your particular organizations.

There’s no one-size-fits-all approach, and there are some technical limitations to be aware of.

Benefits of consolidating organizations

There are a number of reasons a single organization may work for you:

  • View and manage all users for all your verified domains in the same place.

  • View and access a list of all product instances from the same place.

  • See all of your bills across all products in one place.

  • Configure user provisioning for all your users so that all products have access to the same provisioned groups.

  • Achieve the right balance of governance and administrator autonomy by managing users under a single organization with separate product instances to accommodate the needs of different cohorts.

There may also be cost benefits if you plan to upgrade to an Enterprise plan.

Reasons you may need to keep organizations separate

When you merge organizations you’re essentially allowing one group of administrators to manage all product instances, and everything relating to the people who use them.

You might need to keep your organizations separate if:

  • You need to keep user cohorts and data completely separate and don’t want the same set of organization admins to be able to access and administer all product instances.

  • Your current setup is complex, and merging your organizations may be technically difficult, or require significant effort.

If you later decide you want to manage some product instances in a separate organization, it may not be straightforward to split your organizations. Our support team can help you with this, but it may involve a cloud-to-cloud migration, or rely on exporting and importing data manually.

Is it technically possible to merge my organizations?

One major consideration, when deciding whether to merge two organizations, is the effort and complexity involved. This depends on the characteristics of your current organization, such as the number of sites in your organization, and whether you have the improved user management experience (if your  Users list and Groups list appear under the Directory tab in admin.atlassian.com you have the improved user management).

Here’s a summary of the effort involved.

Your current organization

How to transfer all product instances

Single or multiple sites without improved user management

As long as both the current and destination organization don’t have the new user management, you can transfer product instances yourself. This process will transfer all of them and delete your unwanted organization.Learn how to transfer all products to another organization

If you don’t want to transfer all product instances, or your destination organization has the new user management, our support team may be able to find a workaround for you.

Single site with improved user management

Our support team may be able to transfer all product instances to your new organization for you.

This may take some time, as it requires several manual steps.

Multiple sites with improved user management

Our support team may be able to help you transfer your product instances.

This is the most complex scenario, and may require deleting any test sites and sandboxes, or exporting and importing your data, rather than transferring instances directly. They’ll discuss options with you, and work out a plan.

We’re currently working on improving how administrators can merge organizations. Check the public roadmap for updates

If you plan to create a new organization as part of your move (rather than use an existing organization) talk to our support team first, so they can make sure it’s set up to make the move as straightforward as possible.

What will change after I transfer all products to another organization?

It’s important to know what to expect after you transfer all products and merge organizations.

Things that won’t change

  • Users won’t experience downtime or loss of access.

  • Users keep the same product access and permissions.

  • Product admins of transferred products will remain product admins of those product instances.

  • Site admins of transferred sites remain site admins of those sites.

  • Organization admins of the destination organization will remain organization administrators.

  • Transferred products retain their URLs, permissions, projects, spaces, controls, and apps.

  • Transferred products remain separate. If both organizations had the same products, you’ll have multiple product instances after the transfer (nothing will be merged).

  • You will have the same number of bills (except for Atlassian Access) as bills for transferred products will remain separate.

  • Product bills will still be organized by site.

Things that will change

  • Anyone with the organization admin role in the original organization will become an organization admin in the destination organization and will be added as a site admin for all associated sites.

  • The Overview and Products tabs in admin.atlassian.com will list all products in the merged organization.

  • The unwanted organization will no longer appear on the landing page at admin.atlassian.com.

  • Your bill may increase if organization admins added as part of the transfer get product access they previously didn't have. (If you don't want to pay for their access, you can update their admin and product permissions after the transfer is complete).

  • The way users log in may temporarily change. A user may need to set a password to log in after SSO is turned off in the unwanted organization, but before the transfer is complete and SSO set up in the new organization.

  • If you were required to switch back to the old user management to complete the transfer, you will notice differences in the navigation at admin.atlassian.com.

Can I move selected product instances or sites?

If you don’t want to consolidate your organizations into one, and just want to move some sites, or even some projects or spaces, our support team will be able to help you assess the effort involved and advise on the best approach.

You may be able to do this via a cloud-to-cloud migration. This is not always a straightforward process and does have several limitations. Learn how to prepare sites for a cloud to cloud migration

Additional Help