robotsnoindex

robotsnoindex

We’re currently rolling out changes that affect the content on this page. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. We’ll note changes for the improved experience in the content below.



When you connect to G Suite, you sync your G Suite domains and the users under these domains to your Atlassian organization, giving you the power to manage all users from the G Suite admin console.

In addition, all users on your email domain will be able to log in to Atlassian products with their Google account.

When you connect to G Suite, you’re unable to provision users via SCIM or use SAML single sign-on because we’ll provision users from G Suite and they’ll be able to authenticate through Google.


If you noticed a change in your organization admin settings, it’s because we migrated all G Suite connections to a new experience starting November 11, 2020. Learn about what’s changed.

Before you connect to G Suite

Before connecting your G Suite account, check that:

  1. You’re an organization admin for Atlassian

  2. You’re an admin for your G Suite account with the following permissions:

  • Organization > Read

  • Users > Read

  • Groups

  • Domain Settings

If your G Suite admin access is revoked, your G Suite sync will stop working.

Connect to G Suite

You can find G Suite from your organization administration view after clicking Directory.

  1. Go to your organization at admin.atlassian.com

  2. Select G Suite in the left navigation.

    Note this different way to find G Suite if you have the improved user management experience: from your organization at admin.atlassian.com, go to Settings > G Suite.

  3. Click Connect G Suite.

  4. Sign in to your G Suite account.

  5. Click Allow to provide consent for Atlassian to view the information needed to connect G Suite. This information includes who you are on G Suite and your email address, domain, and users and groups under your domain.

Once you’re done connecting you’re ready to configure new settings for G Suite.

After you connect to G Suite

We’ll sync your users. When the sync happens you need to give product access to new users. Learn more about how to grant product access to new users.

If you connect to G Suite product access is turned off for new users. After the first sync is completed, you can turn it on. 

Product access for previously synced users

If you disconnect your organization, we maintain product access for your previously synced users. When you reconnect the organization, we remove product access from any previously synced users that are not part of the new sync.

Linking G Suite and Atlassian accounts

  • If a user you’re syncing from G Suite already exists, we’ll link the G Suite and Atlassian accounts based on their primary email address and G Suite identification.

Automatically sync product details

  • If a user already exists in an organization but isn’t in the G Suite group you’re syncing, the user keeps their product access in Atlassian after you sync.

    However, we won’t sync your updates to product details of unsynced users in G Suite. Add the user to a synced group or sync all users to automatically keep their details up to date in your organization.

We sync all G Suite users to a single group called All users from G Suite. To find this group, go to Directory > User provisioning under the Groups tab.

Note this different way to find this group if you have the improved user management experience: from your organization at admin.atlassian.com, go to Settings > User provisioning under the Groups tab.

If you connect to G Suite and subscribe to Atlassian Access, you can sync specific G Suite users to specific groups.

All domains and sub-domains associated with your G Suite account become verified for your organization. Go to Directory > Domains and select the G Suite tab to see a list of those domains.

Note this different way to find the list of domains if you have the improved user management experience: from your organization at admin.atlassian.com, go to Settings > Domains and select the G Suite tab to see a list of those domains.

Going forward, any updates you make to a synced G Suite account will get updated in your organization when G Suite syncs (every 4 hours). You’ll see all synced users from the Directory > Managed accounts in the organization.

Disconnect from G Suite

When you disconnect from G Suite, users permanently stop syncing. Your users can still log in to your products with their Google credentials or log in with Atlassian credentials after they reset their password. However, their details won't sync when you make changes to their Google accounts.

Unless you verify your domain at admin.atlassian.com, you won’t be able to manage or edit account details for users with accounts from that domain.

To disconnect your organization from G Suite:

  1. Navigate to G Suite at admin.atlassian.com.

  2. Select your organization name and go to Directory > G Suite in the left navigation.

    Note this different way to find G Suite if you have the improved user management experience: from your organization at admin.atlassian.com, go to Settings > G Suite.

  3. Select Disconnect account and follow the prompts.

  4. After you disconnect, we don't save any of your G Suite settings. You can start syncing your users again by setting up another connection to G Suite.

Product access for users after you disconnect G Suite

Users will not lose product access when you disconnect G Suite. If you require users to log in with Google, they will need to reset their password to log in.