• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Manage users and groups when you copy product data

We’re making some changes to the Copy product data feature:

 

User management in cloud

Users in cloud have a single Atlassian account tied to their email address that they can use to access any Atlassian cloud product. This means, when you copy users, we don’t create new user accounts in the destination site. Instead, we link all data and activity associated with a user to their existing Atlassian account. Learn more about Atlassian accounts

Copy users and groups

When you copy Jira or Confluence Cloud data, all active and inactive users are copied. We also copy content associated with deleted users. When you copy from the same source to the same destination again, we copy only new users and groups.

Copy your Jira Cloud users and groups

You can choose to:

  • Copy all users and groups that include deleted users. Deleted users appear as former users. This also includes project roles. The relationship between users and project roles is retained.

  • Copy users and groups related to the selected projects, which means we'll copy all users, groups, or roles referenced in standard or custom fields, user-generated content, workflows, and permission schemes. You have the option to also copy users not directly referenced in projects but are members of groups referenced in the project. If you select this option, we will copy all the users and the groups they belong to.

 

Additionally, you can:

  • Copy users and groups separately, which means you’ll need to add users to their groups after you copy data to give them product access.

  • Copy users with their groups, which means users will remain added in all the groups they were a part of in the destination. They’ll get product access automatically.

Some users may get unwanted permissions when you copy groups. Learn how permissions can change when you copy groups

Copy your Confluence Cloud users and groups

You can opt to:

  • Copy all users and groups, which means we’ll copy all users in your instance of Confluence Cloud. We include inactive and deleted users. Deleted users appear as Former users.

  • Copy users and groups related to the selected spaces, which means we copy inactive or deleted users, users who commented or are mentioned on pages, created or updated pages. Additionally, we copy some non-space users that includes users who created or modified global templates. Here’s the complete the list of users we copy

You have the option to copy users who don’t directly contribute to the spaces but are members of groups of users who directly contribute to the spaces.

Additionally, you can:

  • Copy users and groups separately, which means you’ll need to add users to their groups after you copy data to give them product access.

  • Copy users with their groups, which means users will remain added in all the groups they were a part of in the destination. They’ll get product access automatically.

Some users may get unwanted permissions when you copy groups. Learn how permissions can change when you copy groups

Notify users

Users won’t be notified through email after they are copied. When you're finished setting up your destination Confluence Cloud, you can invite your users by going to Administration > Users > Resend invite from your destination or provide them with a direct login link. Learn more about inviting users

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.