• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

How cloud-to-cloud migration manages users and groups

Starting January, 2024, we’re renaming the Jira cloud-to-cloud migration feature to Copy product data. We’re moving this feature to Atlassian Administration at admin.atlassian.com in a unified experience along with Confluence cloud-to-cloud data copy.

We’re rolling out the change slowly, so if you aren’t able to access this feature by logging into your Jira Cloud and selecting System > Settings > Migrate cloud site, we recommend you go to admin.atlassian.com, and select:

Settings > Data management Copy product data

You’ll need to have organization administrator permissions to access and use the Copy product data feature.

Learn more about this change

 

User management in cloud

Users in cloud have a single Atlassian account tied to their email address that they can use to access any Atlassian cloud product. This means, when we migrate users during a cloud-to-cloud migration, we don’t have to create new user accounts in the destination site. Instead, we link all data and activity associated with a user to their existing Atlassian account. Learn more about Atlassian accounts

When you include Jira Service Management projects in the migration, customers and customer organizations will be moved from one instance of Jira Cloud to another. Learn how we move Jira Service Management customers and customer organizations

How we migrate users and groups

All active and inactive users are migrated, and content associated with deleted users is also migrated. You can choose to:

  • Migrate all Jira users and groups that include deleted users. The deleted users appear as former users. This also includes project roles. The relationship between users and project roles will be retained.

  • Migrate users and groups related to the selected projects, which means we’ll migrate all users, groups, or roles referenced in standard or custom fields, user-generated content, workflows, and permission schemes. You have the option to migrate users not directly referenced in projects but are members of groups that are referenced in the projects.

Additionally, you’ll also have the option to:

  • Migrate users and groups separately, which means you’ll need to add users to their groups after migration to give them product access.

  • Migrate users with their groups, which means users will remain in all groups they were a part of before migration and receive product access immediately. Learn about migrating groups and permissions

When you run additional migrations from the same source instance to the same destination instance, we won’t remigrate all your users and groups. Instead, we’ll only migrate any new users and groups that have been added to the source instance since the last migration.

The site-admins and org-admins groups won’t be migrated. So, any references to these groups will only migrate if the groups are manually created in the destination site before migration.

Notify users

Users won’t get an email notification when they’re migrated to another site. When you’re ready, you can invite your users by going to Administration > Users > Resend invite from your destination site. Alternatively, you can also give users a link to the destination site and they’ll be able to log in directly. Learn more about inviting users

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.