• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Start copying Confluence data

We're rolling out a new Data management page in Atlassian administration with a collection of features that helps you copy, store, organize, and maintain your product data from one place.

This means some of you will see the Copy product data feature when you select Settings > Data management.

 

Who can do this?

  • Organization admins

To copy Confluence data, you must first create a copy plan. A copy plan is a collection of spaces and related data such as pages, configurations, and settings. As part of the open beta, we automatically include all users and groups in a plan. Depending on the number of spaces you add, the time it takes to copy varies. You can create multiple plans and copy a small number of spaces in each plan to minimize downtime.

To start copying data:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Settings > Copy product data or select Settings > Data management > Copy product data.

  3. Select Create copy plan.

  4. On the How it works page, select Next.

Choose your source and destination

You can copy data from one instance of Confluence, known as the source, to another instance, known as the destination. The destination can be a new instance of Confluence without any data or an instance with existing data.

The dropdown menus for selecting the source and destination display the Confluence instances for which you are an organization admin.

  1. Select the source and destination.

  2. Name your plan. If you create multiple plans, you’ll be able to track the progress of a plan by this name.

  3. Select Next.

Select the spaces you want to copy

We include pages, attachments, and configurations with the spaces you select. Learn more about what we copy and what we don’t

  1. Select the spaces you want to copy.

  2. Select Next.

Select group membership

As part of the Early Access Program (EAP), we’ll copy all users and groups.

You can choose to:

  • Preserve group membership, which means users will be copied along with their groups. If there’s a group with the same name on the destination, the two groups will be merged, and copied users will automatically be granted permissions of the destination groups. This means that users may get unwanted permissions. We’ll check if there are groups with the same names in the next step.

  • Add users to groups separately, which means users won’t be added to groups after they are copied. You’ll need to manually add users to groups after copying to grant them product access.

Once you’ve selected the desired option, select Next.

Validate data

Before you can start copying, you’ll need to run checks to identify potential problems or unwanted settings. When you reach this step, we create and save the plan, and it’ll appear on the dashboard.

We check:

  • User license on the destination: The number of users with product access should be up to the maximum allowed under the plan you’ve subscribed to on your destination. If you need to increase the user limit, upgrade your plan.

  • User-installed apps on destination: We recommend that your destination has the same apps as your source. These apps may either be Marketplace apps or apps you might have built and installed.

  • Space with same keys on destination: We can’t copy spaces with the same keys, so you’ll need to remove them from the plan or delete them from the destination. Space keys are case insensitive, so we treat upper- and lower-case letters as being the same.

  • Groups on destination site: We run this check only if you chose to preserve membership. We’ll check if there are groups with the same names on the destination.

  • Spaces with public access: We copy space permissions as they’re configured on your source. When you make your spaces available to anonymous users, this means anyone on the internet will be able to find and access your content. If you don’t want anonymous people to access this data on your destination, update the permissions on your source site.

When you copy data, we check for common problems, but you may find other problems. If you’re unable to fix any problem, contact support.

Statuses and what they mean

When we finish checking your data, we mark the results with a status, indicating whether any attention is required.

Status

What it means

Check

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific space. You can copy data, but we recommend that you review the warning.

Fix

We found problems with users, groups, or a specific space in your copy plan. You’ll need to resolve the error before you can copy data.

Ready

You’re good to go! You have no warnings or problems to resolve, and you can start copying data.

Once you’ve fixed all the problems, select Copy data. You’ll be redirected to the dashboard where you can track and monitor the progress.

Use the dashboard

While you copy data, you can monitor the progress by keeping track of the status of a plan. There are five possible statuses.

Status

What it means

Queued

Data included in this plan is next in queue to be copied.

Running

Data included in this plan is currently being copied.

Complete

Data included in this plan was successfully copied.

Incomplete

Data included in this plan was partially copied. For example, this could mean that 10 out of 15 users were copied.

Failed

Data included in this plan could not be copied.

We only store data for 14 days from the day a plan is created. After 14 days, the plan expires and appears grayed out on the dashboard. The Expires column allows you to track the number of days remaining for the plan to expire. Learn more about privacy and data protection when you copy product data

View detailed progress and status of a plan

When you copy data, you can monitor the progress and view the statuses of users, groups, and spaces you’ve included in a plan. You can’t view details of expired plans or plans that have products under an organization for which you don’t have organization admin permissions.

There are two ways you can view plan details.

  • Select the plan name, or

  • Select More actions (•••) > Show details.

The plan details include:

  • Source and the destination URLs.

  • Summary of the plan that includes the status of the plan, the number of spaces you’ve selected, and the total number of pages included with those spaces. You can also see details of who created the plan, the time the plan was created, and the time you last validated the data.

  • Progress and status of users, groups, and spaces you’ve selected.

After copying your data

Onboard your users

If you chose to add users to the group separately, you’ll need to add users to their relevant groups to give them product access. Learn more about giving users product access

Users won’t get an email notification when they’re copied to another site. When you’re ready, you can invite your users by going to Administration > Users > Resend invite from your destination site. Alternatively, you can also give users a link to the destination site and they will be able to log in directly. Learn more about inviting users

Decide to keep or cancel your product subscription

Once you’ve copied your data, we recommend you keep the product for a few months before canceling your subscription. If you’re concerned about additional billing, you can cancel your product subscription.

To cancel your product subscription:

  1. Go to Administration > Billing > Manage subscriptions.

  2. Select Cancel subscription for the product you want to cancel.

Learn more about canceling subscriptions

Additional Help