As an admin in Jira, you can get rid of projects that you don't need by moving them to trash. This won’t affect associated schemes, workflows, issue types, or any content that is shared with other projects.

Projects along with their issues, components, attachments, and versions will be available in trash for 60 days, after which they will be permanently deleted.

When a project is in trash, its issues won’t appear in basic or advanced search results. You can still access these issues through direct links, but you won’t be able to edit them.

Jira and site admins can move company-managed and team-managed projects to trash and restore them. Project admins can only move team-managed projects to trash.

Read more about managing global permissions and project permissions.

As a Jira or site admin, you can:

  • view when a project was moved to trash

  • view the user who moved the project to trash

  • restore a project that was moved to trash

  • view when a project will be permanently deleted

  • delete a project permanently