filter is a saved issue search. Jira users can create and manage their own filters and filter subscriptions.

shared filter is a filter whose creator has shared that filter with other users. You can share a filter with:

  • ProjectAll members or members with specific project roles working on one or multiple projects.
  • Group—A group of Jira users.
  • OpenAny user who is logged-in to your Jira Cloud site. 
  • PublicPublic sharing means sharing the dashboard with users who are not logged in to your Jira Cloud site. Note that if you share a filter publicly, it will be visible and searchable on the internet. See Prevent or remove public access for more information.
  • Private—Only you can view the filter.

You can change the ownership of any user's shared filter that will allow the new owner to edit and modify the shared filter. For more information about how to use filters, see Saving your search as a filter.

Before you begin: For all of the following procedures, you must be logged in as a user with the Administer Jira global permission.

Changing the ownership of a shared filter

Before you make any changes, we recommend checking in with the shared filter's existing owner. 

  1. Choose > System.
  2. Click Shared Filters.
  3. Search for a filter or scroll through the full list.
  4. Next to the shared filter, click  > Change owner.
  5. Search for the relevant user and click Change Owner.

Please note:

  • A shared filter can only be edited by the shared filter's owner. The owner of a shared filter can only modify that filter's shares and search criteria too.
  • You cannot change the ownership of a shared filter to a user who:
    • already has a shared filter with exactly the same name, or
    • does not have permission to view the shared filter.

Deleting a shared filter

Make sure to check in with the shared filter's owner before you delete it. 

  1. Choose > System.
  2. Click Shared Filters.
  3. Search for a filter or scroll through the full list.
  4. Next to the shared filter, click  > Delete filter
  5. If you're happy to proceed, click Delete.