Organize workspace members into groups

User groups help you organize members of your workspace into groups of developer feature teams or by roles. These groups allow you to manage access to your workspace's repositories and settings.

When you create a workspace, Bitbucket automatically creates an Administrators group and a Developers group. The users in the Administrators group are the members of your workspace you've specified as an admin. By default, all workspace members are in the Developers group.

Types of group permissions

A user group has two different types of permissions: default repository access and workspace member permissions.

Repository access

These permissions specify the group's access to a repository:

Admin

Allows users to do everything a repository owner can do: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.

Write

Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.

Read

Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.

None

Prevents those users from seeing anything in the repository.

You can update a group's repository access permissions for future or existing repositories.

Workspace member permissions

These permissions specify what the group's users can do within your workspace:

Create repositories

Allows workspace members to create new repositories for the team.

Administer workspace

Allows workspace members to update the workspace's settings and the settings of any repositories within the workspace.

Existing user groups

Your workspace account plan includes the group members, which means that if you add a user to a User group, that user becomes a member of your workspace. If an account goes over the plan limit, you must remove members from a group or remove access from individual repositories until the account is back within its plan limits. For information on repository access, see Grant access to workspace repositories.

To find your workspaces's user groups, select the workspace from your profile and settings avatar or click All workspaces for a full list. Select Settings, then select User groups. You'll see a list of the existing groups.

Select a user group, and you'll see the permissions, members, and repositories associated with that group. You can also add and remove users from here.

Update a group's repository access permissions

You can change group access for future or existing repositories. When you update access for a group from the Edit button, all future repositories will have the new permissions but not existing repositories. As a result, if you want to change group permissions for everything, you need to do both sets of steps in this section. You can also set permissions across multiple users, groups, or repositories.

For your workspace's future repositories:

  1. From User groups, select the name of the group you want to update.

  2. Select Edit in the Workspace permissions panel.

  3. In the Edit workspace permissions dialog, choose the permissions you want to enforce.

  4. Select Confirm.

For your workspace's existing repositories:

  1. From User groups, click the name of the group you want to update.

  2. Select the Repositories tab on the group's page.

  3. Select the Permissions dropdown associated with the repository you want to update.

Bulk permissions

Select multiple repositories from the list and then select the Edit permissions button above the list of repositories. In the Edit permissions dialog, select the Select permissions dropdown and select the new permission level for these repositories. Select Confirm to save the new permissions.

Update a group's permissions for the entire workspace

Workspace permissions give users the ability to update workspace settings or create repositories within the workspace.

  1. From User groups, select the name of the group you want to update.

  2. Click Edit in the Workspace permissions panel.

  3. In the Edit workspace permissions dialog, choose the permissions you want to enforce.

  4. Click Confirm.

New user groups

When you create a group, you specify the type of permissions you want to give group members for the workspace members and for newly created repositories.

From the User groups page, click Create group. Update the fields on the screen and click Confirm to save the group.

Field

Description

Name

Describes the type of users this group will include.

Default repository access

Specifies the group's default access when the team has a new repository:

  • Admin – Allows users to do everything a repository owner can do: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.

  • Write – Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.

  • Read – Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.

  • None – Prevents those users from seeing anything in the repository.

Team permissions

Specifies what the group's users can do with the team account:

  • Create repositories – Allows team members to create new repositories for the team.

  • Administer team – Allows team members to update the team's settings and the settings of any team-owned repositories.

After you create the group, select the new group from the User groups list to start to add members and repositories. 

Deleting a group

When you delete a group, that group will no longer have access to any repositories it previously had access to. As a result, all group members lose access as well, unless they're part of another group with access.

 

Last modified on Jul 28, 2021
Cached at 2:18 AM on Sep 21, 2021 |

Additional Help