robotsnoindex

You can see all of your workspace's repositories from your workspace's Repositories page. To find a workspace, go to your avatar in the bottom left and click All workspaces. When you create repositories under in your workspace, you can also organize them by project.

Grant access to workspace repositories

You can control access to your workspace's repositories by adding specific user groups or individual users. To create groups, go to Repository settings > User and group access.

If a user deletes his or her account, Bitbucket automatically deletes that user from all repository access lists.

New group access on existing repositories

If you create a new group for your workspace, it doesn't get automatically added to your existing repositories. To grant the new group access to existing repositories in your workspace:

  1. Open Repository settings and click User and group access.
  2. From the Groups section, click Select a group and scroll down to your new group.
  3. After you've found the right group, pick the access level from the next dropdown:
    • Admin–Allows users to do everything a repository owner can do: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.
    • Write–Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.
    • Read–Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.
  4. Click Add to add the group to the repository.

Group access on future repositories

When you create a repository in a workspace with existing user groups, Bitbucket determines if the workspace has any groups with the Default Access permissions of ReadWrite, or Admin. If it does, Bitbucket adds those groups to the new repository with the default permission. If you specify None for the default permissions, Bitbucket ignores that group and doesn't add it.

To update the group permissions for only one repository, you can do so from the User and group access page of the repository settings.

tip/resting Created with Sketch.

User groups are the best way to manage access to your workspace's repositories. However, for special circumstances, you can also add users individually to repositories.

User access on existing repositories

If you want to add individual users to your workspace's repository, do the following:

  1. Click Repository settings in the left sidebar navigation of the Bitbucket repository.
  2. Click User and group access on the left sidebar navigation.
  3. Locate the Users section of the page for a current list of users with access.
  4. Enter the Bitbucket user's name or email address in the text box.
  5. Select a permission from the dropdown menu.
  6. Click Add.
    If the team member doesn't have a Bitbucket account, then Bitbucket prompts him or her to create one. Once the person has an account, Bitbucket adds the account to the repository with the access you chose when you created the invitation.

Update your plan details

If your Bitbucket account containing this workspace is on the Free plan, you have a team limit of 5 users. If the number of users with access to your workspace's repositories goes over 5 users, access becomes read-only for all your private repositories. The repository admins still have write access to each repository, and administrators can still administer each repository.

To restore access, remove excess users from the repository or upgrade your plan. For more information, see Plans and billing.