Grant repository access to users and groups

When you create a repository, you specify whether it's private or public. If your repository is public, anyone can access it. If your repository is private, you can grant access to individuals and groups of users.

To create groups, go to the User Groups page of your workspace Settings.

Users and groups have one of the following access levels:

Admin

Allows users to do everything within the repository: change repository settings, update user permissions, and delete the repository.

Write

Allows users to contribute to the repository by pushing changes directly.

Read

Allows users to view, clone, and fork the repository code but not push changes. Read access also allows users to create issues, comment on issues, and edit wiki pages.

If a user deletes his or her account, Bitbucket automatically deletes that user from all repository access lists.

Adding users and your Bitbucket Cloud plan

If you're on the Free plan and the number of users with access to your private repositories goes over 5, access becomes read-only until you upgrade your account or remove users from a group or individual repositories. You and other repository administrators still have access to the repository. For information on plan limits, see Bitbucket Cloud plan details.


Can I add a workspace?

You can't add a workspace to your repository. The only workspace with access is the workspace that owns the repository, but you can transfer repositories to your workspace if necessary. Or create a new group and add the specific users you want to that group.


Add a repository to a group

Repositories can be added to groups within the Workspace’s settings. When you create a repository, Bitbucket checks to see if the repository's owner has any groups with an access level of readwrite, or admin. If the workspace does, Bitbucket adds those groups to the new repository with the default permission. If a group has no access, that group does not appear on the User and group access page. However, you can still just add that group with the appropriate access.

To grant a group access to a repository:

  1. From the workspace, select Settings.

  2. Select User groups.

  3. Select the group you want to grant repository access to from the Group name column.

  4. Select the Add repository button.

  5. Enter the name or names of the repositories you want to grant the group access to.

  6. Select the level of permissions you want to grant the group for this repository.

  7. Select Confirm to add the group to the repository.

Update user or group access for a repository

To update group access on a repository, select the repository > select Repository settings > select user and group access > select the Permission dropdown associated with the user or group > select the new permission level you want to grant to the group for this repository.

When you change group access or remove a group from a repository, you establish repository-level group settings. These changes remain in effect for the specific repository, even if you later change the group's access from the account or workspace's User groups page.

Add user access to a repository

While user groups are the best way to manage access to your repositories, you can also add users individually. To add individual users to your repository:

  1. From the User and group access page, select Add members.

  2. Enter the user by name or email address, if they are not already a member of the workspace.

  3. Select an access level from the dropdown menu.

  4. Select Confirm.
    If you add the email address of someone without an account, that person receives an email prompting him or her to create one. Once the user has Bitbucket access, he or she can access the repository.

Additional Help