Team-managed projects in Jira Work Management

We’re trialing team-managed projects in Jira Work Management. Some users may see the option to create a team-managed project.

Delete a project

  • Jira admins with the Administer Jira global permission or any user with the Administer the project permission can move projects to trash.

  • Only Jira admins can access trash and restore or permanently delete projects from the trash.

Trash for business projects

As Jira admins or project leads, you can delete projects that you no longer need by moving them to trash. The projects along with their issues, components, attachments, and versions will sit in the trash for 60 days, after which they will be permanently deleted.

From the trash, Jira admins can: 

  • View when a project was moved to trash

  • View the user who moved the project to trash

  • View when a project will be permanently deleted

  • Restore a project that was moved to trash

  • Permanently delete a project

Move a project to trash

To move a project to trash: 

  1. Choose Projects > View all projects.

  2. Find your team-managed business project and select ••• > Move to trash. A confirmation dialog appears.

  3. Click Move.

Alternatively, you can: 

  1. Choose Settings  > Projects.

  2. Select Projects from the sidebar.

  3. Find your team-managed business project and select ••• > Move to trash. A confirmation dialog appears.

  4. Click Move.

You can also:

  1. Choose Settings  > Projects or
    choose Projects > View all projects.

  2. Find your team-managed business project and select ••• > Project settings.

  3. Select Details from the sidebar.

  4. Click ••• > Move to trash. A confirmation dialog appears.

  5. Click Move

Restore a project from trash

When you restore a project, it will appear in directories and its issues will appear in search results.

To restore a project: 

  1. Choose Settings  > Projects.

  2. Select Trash from the sidebar. 

  3. Find your team-managed business project and select ••• > Restore

Delete a project

Once you delete a project, you’re unable to recover it, so make sure you truly want to delete the data associated with your project.

To permanently delete a project: 

  1. Choose Settings  > Projects.

  2. Select Trash from the sidebar. 

  3. Find your business project and select ••• > Delete permanently.

    Additional Help