• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Migrate users and groups with Jira Cloud Migration Assistant

Before you migrate, check your cloud organization

We’re currently rolling out changes that may affect your migration experience. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. This means that the users and groups across sites will be merged under the organization. Read more about how groups and permissions are migrated. If you have any concerns, contact support.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

For a test migration or UAT, we recommend that your test cloud site is not part of the organisation that also hosts your prod site. The prod site should be hosted in a different organisation. This is to ensure smooth migration of the relevant users and groups.

The Jira Cloud Migration Assistant lets you migrate your Jira users from server to cloud. You can migrate users on their own or with project data.

Before finalizing your migration plan, we recommend choosing a user migration method that works for your set up, especially if you’re using a third-party identity provider.


User migration options

With the Jira Cloud Migration Assistant, you have 2 options for migrating your users and groups.

Option 1: All your users and groups - This includes Jira Core and Jira Software users, as well as Jira Service Management agents (formerly Jira Service Desk).

Option 2: Just the users and groups referenced in configuration, fields, and content of the project(s) you are migrating - this is the minimum required to ensure that your project data remains intact after migration.

Within option 2 you will also be able to choose some additional related users that are not referenced in project data. You’ll be able to add:

  • All users and groups assigned to roles of projects being migrated

  • All users who are members of groups included in the migration

Choosing an option

Use the table below to help you decide which users and groups you need. To use this feature in the migration assistant follow the instructions in our guide.



All users and groups

Referenced only

Referenced
+
assigned project roles

Referenced
+
members of groups

Referenced
+
assigned project roles
+
members of groups

Users referenced in project fields or user-generated content

successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon

Users and groups assigned a project role

successful build icon
cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

successful build icon
cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

successful build icon

Members of groups assigned a project role

successful build icon
cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

successful build icon
successful build icon

Users or groups referenced in workflows or permission schemes of selected projects

successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon
successful build icon

Members of groups referenced in workflows or permission schemes

successful build icon
cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

cross mark

unless also referenced in the project

successful build icon
successful build icon

All other users and groups not mentioned above

successful build icon
cross mark
cross mark
cross mark
cross mark

How user and group data is linked

User accounts in cloud are identified by unique email addresses.

When using the Migration Assistant to migrate, a new account will be created in your cloud site for each of your users. If an email address already exists in your cloud site, it won’t be migrated. Instead, we will link all data connected to that user to their account in cloud.

If you have users that already exist in your destination cloud site, then the following will occur:

  • If a user has product access in cloud, but has disabled status in your server site, they will continue to have product access in cloud after migration.

  • If a user does not have product access in cloud, but is enabled and has product access in your server site, they will be granted product access through the migration process.

Your groups will also be linked to existing groups in cloud (if they are already there). Group linking is identified by group name and could result in permission escalation during migration. Make sure you check your groups before migrating. Learn more about how groups and permissions are migrated

Optimizing user migration for reduced downtime

If you migrate your users before your project data, you will save time on migration day. This is because the Migration Assistant will not need to re-migrate those users. This is particularly helpful if you are migrating all of your users. Learn more about migrating a large userbase.

Deleted or inactive users and directories

Any deleted users or users in inactive directories that are referenced in your Jira data will appear as Former user after migration. If you need to migrate the references to these users, reactivate them (or the directory) before migrating.

Users with disabled status in your server site will be migrated as active but without any product access. This means they will not be counted as active Jira users for billing purposes. Learn about how users are managed in cloud.

Permissions

The first time you migrate, you will need to review and approve group permissions after migrating. When you approve group permissions any active users in your cloud site will be added to your bill.

Global settings and global site permissions are not migrated with this tool. You’ll need to set these manually before or after migration.

Learn about how groups and permissions are migrated with the migration assistant. 

Project roles

When you select a project for migration, the roles associated with that project will also be migrated. Unfortunately, at this point in time, project roles do not get removed when you delete a project in cloud, so when you migrate that same project again, the role will get migrated with the suffix: (migrated). This is a known issue and requires manual clean-up. Contact support if you need assistance with this.

Inviting users

We won’t send an invitation to your users even if you choose to give your users access during the migration. To invite your users you can choose to send an invitation from the Administration space after you have migrated, or send a link for them to log in themselves.

Billing changes in cloud

Jira Cloud is subscription-based and billed on a per-user basis. If you plan to migrate your users, make sure you check the licensing options or calculate the cost with our pricing calculator. By default, cloud subscriptions are billed on a monthly basis however you can choose annual billing if you prefer. 

Third-party identity providers

If you're intending to use an external identity provider in cloud, make sure you've read the guidance on migrating users and groups

We recommend synchronizing it with your local directory before migrating. This is to make sure that your users and groups are up to date before you transfer any data.

More information and support

We have a number of channels available to help you with your migration.

Last modified on May 6, 2021
Cached at 9:04 PM on Aug 2, 2021 |

Additional Help

Ask the Community