Check for errors, review, and run a Confluence migration
After you create a migration plan, the Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant runs a set of pre-migration checks to make sure your data can be migrated to Cloud.
It checks that, for example:
Cloud Apps are installed in the destination site
Users have unique and valid email addresses
You don’t exceed your user or storage limit
Check for errors in your migration
To check for errors:
Progress through your migration plan until you reach the Pre-migration checks screen
View the details of your migration plan from the Migrations dashboard

The pre-migration checks are divided into the following groups:
System
App version of the Cloud Migration Assistant
Users and groups
Spaces
You can expand each check to see information on how to fix the related problems. If you select the Continue and fix later button on this screen, you can come back to view the checks after you have saved your migration.
Learn how to solve common problems shown by checks
Stop running pre-migration checks
You can stop the pre-migration checks for your plan if they appear to be stuck, taking too long to complete, or if you've changed your mind about what data you want to migrate.
To stop the pre-migration checks, select Stop from the bottom of the Pre-migration checks screen when the checks are running.
After you stop the pre-migration checks, the current run will be cancelled and any partial results will be lost. You can re-run the checks on the same plan afterward.
We recommend that you contact your Migration Partner or Atlassian Support if you notice:
pre-migration checks are frequently taking too long
pre-migration checks are failing frequently due to server errors, and not due to the data errors
pre-migration checks are failing to stop even after you stop them
Review your migration
After you’ve reviewed and fixed the checks, you can proceed to reviewing your migration.
To review your migration:
Progress through your migration plan until you reach the Review migration screen
View the details of your migration plan from the Migrations dashboard
Learn how to view the details of your migration plan
Run or save your migration
After you reviewed the details of your migration, you can run or save it. In both cases, it will be saved to the dashboard where you can see the details and monitor the progress if you decided to run it.
To run your migration, select Run now.
To save your migration for later, select Save.
You’ll be moved to the Migrations dashboard where you can see your migration and monitor the progress.
When you initiate a new migration while an existing migration involving users and groups is in progress, the new migration is shown as in progress and the migration assistant will wait 60 minutes for the previous migration to complete. If the previous migration remains incomplete by the end of this period, this new migration you initiated will fail.
Next steps
Once you’re done, check the details of your migration or see how it’s progressing. Learn how to view the details and monitor the progress
More information and support
We have a number of channels available to help you with your migration.
For more migration planning information and FAQs, visit the Atlassian Cloud Migration Center.
Have a technical issue or need more support with strategy and best practices? Get in touch.
Looking for peer advice? Ask the Atlassian Community.
Want expert guidance? Work with an Atlassian Partner.
Support for Atlassian Server products ends in February, 2024. Learn more about the Server end of support timeline.
Was this helpful?