• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Migrate Jira Service Management customer accounts

The Jira Cloud Migration Assistant lets you migrate your unlicensed users (customers who raise requests through the portal, email, or widget) from Jira Service Management server to cloud.

The Jira Cloud Migration Assistant migrates the Jira Service Management agents and project administrators via the User and groups option. Learn more about user and group migration. 

Customer migration options

With the Jira Cloud Migration Assistant, you have two options to migrate your customer accounts.

Option 1: All Jira Service Management customers - This includes all customers who have ever created a request via the customer portal or email channel.

Option 2: Only customers related to the selected projects - This includes customers who have created a request or are referenced on a request for a certain set of Jira Service Management projects.

We will not send any emails to customers when they are migrated to cloud.

You can select the No customers option to not migrate customer accounts. This option is available when there are only Jira Software projects added or no projects are added to the migration.

How customer data is migrated

When using the Migration Assistant to migrate, a new account will be created in your cloud site for each of your customers. If an email address already exists in your cloud site, it won’t be migrated. Instead, we will link all data connected to that customer to their account in cloud.

There could be scenarios where the same user is identified differently in server and cloud.

  • If a user is identified as a “licensed user” in server and a similar customer account exists in cloud, then Jira Cloud Migration Assistant will migrate the user as an Atlassian account in cloud. This will result in two accounts in cloud.

  • If a user is identified as an “portal-only“ user in server and similar Atlassian account exists in cloud, after the migration it will be still treated as an Atlassian account.

Optimizing customer migration for reduced downtime

If you migrate your customers before your project data, you will save time on migration day. This is because the Migration Assistant will not need to re-migrate those customers. This is particularly helpful if you are migrating all of your customers.

Deleted or inactive customers

Any deleted customers or customers in inactive directories that are referenced in your Jira data will appear as Former customer after migration.

How to check if all the customers are migrated to cloud

One quick way to check is to match the number of customers in server and cloud post migration. In server, you can access the Migrations dashboard and select View details for the migration you want to view the customer count.

In cloud, you can use the following steps to view the migrated customers.

  1. Log in to admin.atlassian.com.

  2. From your organization, select the site that contains Jira Service Management.

  3. Go to User Management >Jira Service Management.

Last modified on Nov 14, 2021
Cached at 11:29 AM on Dec 2, 2021 |

Additional Help