robotsnoindex
descriptionLearn how the Jira Cloud Migration Assistant links your server data with data that already exists in your cloud site.

If you already have some data in your cloud site, the Jira Cloud Migration Assistant might link your data instead of re-migrating it. This page explains how the migration assistant decides what to do with your data.

Saving records

The migration assistant will save a record of each entity (i.e. workflow or custom field) it migrates. When you migrate the second or third time to the same cloud site, the Assistant will check to see if it already has a record of that entity.

Linking

If an entity in your migration is the same as one in your cloud site, and we have a record of migrating it, we will link your data to the existing entity in your cloud site. We will not re-migrate this entity.

If you don’t want this to happen you’ll need to contact our technical support team and request that the records of past migrations be deleted.

Altering name

If an entity in your migration has the same name as one in your cloud site, and we don't have a record of migrating it, we will alter the name (by adding (migrated)) to avoid duplicates. We will then migrate your data along with this altered entity. For example, an entity called custom field A will be renamed to custom field A (migrated) after migration.

If you have JQL filters or quick filters that rely on these entities, make sure you check they are working after migrating.

This rule is true for all entities except Resolution – which we will not migrate at all. Instead, we will link your data from your server site to the existing entity in cloud. This is because Resolution is a default entity in cloud.


Duplicates

Multiple duplicated entity names can occur for s number of reasons. These will appear as Workflow A (migrated), Workflow A (migrated 2), Workflow A (migrated 3), etc. 

Duplicates may be caused by:

  • A default entity existing in both your server and cloud sites
  • The migration table is reset between migrations
  • Some data is deleted between migrations

If you a seeing lots of duplicates in your cloud site after migration, contact the support team for assistance. 

Users and groups

User migration operates on this same logic. If a user's email address already exists in the destination site, it will not be re-migrated. Learn more about user migration

Server groups that already exist in the destination site will be merged. This means that some users may receive escalated permissions through the migration. Learn more about how groups and permissions are migrated

More information and support

We have a number of channels available to help you with your migration.