• Products
  • Documentation
  • Resources

Migrate all Jira data at once using the assistant

This option lets you migrate all data at once, without having to select specific items. You can migrate all projects, users and groups, customers, and apps using this option.

Looking for information on assessments?

Before you migrate data, you should complete assessments available in the assistant:

Before you begin

Complete these steps:

  • Check what can be migrated with this option. Learn more

  • Update the assistant and allowlist required IPs and domains. Learn more

  • Complete the pre-migration checklist to prepare your environment. Learn more

  • Pre-migrate users, groups, and attachments to reduce downtime. Learn more

  • Make sure your Jira database user only has permissions and access to Jira schemas. Learn more

  • This option requires an empty cloud site. You can:

    • delete existing projects from Jira Cloud. Learn more

    • start with an empty cloud site or we’ll give you an option to overwrite existing data in your cloud site. You’ll be required to create a backup for Jira Cloud (within the last 14 days) before overwriting data.

Permissions:

  • To migrate, you need to be a system admin in the source instance, and organization admin in the destination cloud site.

Good to know:

  • If you have Jira Align connected to your Jira instance, you need to complete additional steps before you migrate. Learn more

  • This option doesn’t support merging duplicated users (an automatic fix from ‘Assess and prepare users’). Learn more

  • This option requires that you use REST API when updating links to Jira issues or Confluence pages after the migration. Updating links directly from admin.atlassian.com isn’t supported. Learn more

Create a migration plan and connect to your cloud site

To create a migration plan:

  1. Open the Jira Cloud Migration Assistant.

  2. Select Create new migration.

  3. On the Connect to your cloud site screen, provide the following data:

Screen

Fields

"Connect to your cloud site" screen.
  • Name your migration

  • Choose migration stage: production or testing. This option doesn’t affect your migration. It will help you recognize different migration plans on the dashboard.

  • Choose destination cloud site: If you don’t have one yet, you can activate your free Cloud migration trial and create one.

4. On the Migration options screen, select Migrate all data at once.

Two migration options, with the "Migrate all data at once" highlighted.

Next steps

Once you’re done, check for errors in your migration. Learn how to check for errors in your migration


More information and support

We have a number of channels available to help you with your migration.

Support for Atlassian Server products ends in February, 2024. Learn more about the Server end of support timeline.

 

Additional Help