Manage your discovery project workflows

In Jira Product Discovery, a workflow represents the paths that your ideas take from conceptualization to implementation. These workflows work just like the Jira Software workflows.

  • Statuses are the steps in your team’s working process that describe the state of a task.

  • Transitions specify how a piece of work can move between statuses.

  • Rules streamline your team's process by limiting when your team can use a transition or by automatically performing an action.

Before you begin

  • Ensure you have creator permissions before you try to change the workflow.

Status

Steps in your team’s working process that describe the state of a task.

Create a new status

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select Status at the top of the editor and select one of the available categories.

  3. In the bar, write the name of the status you want to create and click Add.

  4. Once you create the new status, it shows up in the diagram. Move it around to use it.

Edit a status

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select the status in your workflow diagram.

  3. In the status details panel, you can edit the status’s name and category.

  4. When you’re done making edits to your workflow, select Update workflow.

Delete a status

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select the status in your workflow diagram. The status details panel appears.

  3. At the bottom of the details panel, select Delete status.

  4. When you’re done making edits to your workflow, select Update workflow.

Statuses can be shared between workflows. Deleting a status in the workflow editor only removes the status from the workflow you're currently editing.

Transitions

Transitions connect statuses. They represent actions people take to move issues through your workflow. They also appear as drop zones when people move cards across your project's board.

Create a new transition

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select Transition, and select the destination of your transition path in the To status menu.

  3. Give your transition a name.

  4. Select Create. Your transition appears on the workflow as an arrow connecting your statuses. When you select a status in your workflow, you can view all its transitions in the details panel.

  5. When you’re done editing, select Update workflow. You can add up to 200 transitions to your workflow.

Edit an existing transition

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. In the workflow diagram, select the transition you want to edit. In the details panel, you can edit the transition’s name and any of its rules.

When you’re done making edits, select Update workflow.

Delete a transition

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. In the diagram, select the transition you want to delete.

  3. On the right panel, at the bottom, select Delete transition.

Rules

Rules automate repetitive actions when people move work between statuses. 

Create a rule

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select the rule you want to add from the list and click Select.

  3. Select the transition you want to add the rule to from the For transition menu.

  4. Fill out the required information to setup your rule, and click Add. To see the rule in action, create a test issue and move it through your workflow.

    You can add up to 10 rules to each transition.

Edit a transition rule

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select the transition in your workflow diagram. The transition details pane appears.

  3. Under Rules, click the card for the rule you want to edit.

  4. Make your changes and select Update.

Delete a transition rule

  1. In your project, on the left panel, select Project settings > Workflow.

  2. Select the transition in your workflow diagram. The transition details pane appears.

  3. Under Rules, click the card for the rule you want to delete.

  4. Click Delete rule.

  5. In the diagram, select the transition you want to delete.

  6. On the right panel, at the bottom, select Delete transition.

 

Additional Help