Visibility of Atlassian teams information

Atlassian teams are only visible to people with accounts in the same organization. Teams are only visible to people with access to the site where the team was created.

What is an organization?

When you’re done creating a new Atlassian team in Jira or Confluence, everyone in your organization will have access to view information in your team profile.

This includes:

  • TeamID

  • Team membership

  • Team description

  • Team profile cards

  • Team profile page

People in your organization can:

  • see if your team is included in @mentions

  • assign issues to your team

  • find your team in search results

For users outside your organization, no information about your team will be shown except for the team name in some rare instances (such as when it’s included in a public project or document).

Users with access only to open sites can't use Atlassian teams

Some Atlassian sites are configured as ‘open sites’, meaning anyone on the internet can join and work with your projects or pages without admin approval. For some customers, we found that this may be caused by an unintentional misconfiguration. 

We recommend configuring your site settings so that it's not open to anyone on the internet without admin approval.

If you intentionally make your site open, people who join without admin approval will not be able to use Atlassian teams. For Advanced Roadmaps users, there are additional limitations on teams use in place.

We disabled teams on open sites to prevent the potential security risks of leaking information about users and internal teams in the whole organization to anyone on the internet.

 

Additional Help