Revoke access for portal-only customers

We’re currently rolling out changes that affect the content on this page. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. We’ll note changes for the improved experience in the content below.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

Customers with portal-only accounts can log in to your Jira Service Management portals, raise requests, and view knowledge base articles.

Organization and site admins can revoke access for a portal-only customer to access your portals:

  1. Go to your site's Admin at admin.atlassian.com. If you're an admin for multiple site or an organization admin, click the site's name and URL to open the Admin for that site.

  2. Select Jira Service Management.

  3. Find the customer you want to change the password for and then select (More option) > Revoke access.

  4. Select Revoke access to confirm.

If you have the improved user management experience:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Products from the header.

  3. Under Sites and products, select the site that contains Jira Service Management.

  4. Under the Jira Service Management section on the nav bar, select Portal customers.

  5. Next to the customer you want to revoke access for, select (More option) > Revoke access.

  6. Select Revoke access to confirm.

 Revoke access consequences

  1. The customer will be unable to access the site’s portal anymore.

  2. The customer won't be searchable and selectable in user-picker fields.

  3. The customer’s name will show up as Username (Deactivated) in user-picker fields that were previously filled with their name.

Deactivated customer

4. The account will still be searchable in filters, however only by its email address.

5. The customer's portal-only account can be reactivated at any time on the Portal customers page by choosing the (more) icon and selecting Grant access. All previous user references will be kept.

Additional Help