Migrate a portal-only customer to Atlassian account

We’re currently rolling out changes that affect the content on this page. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. We’ll note changes for the improved experience in the content below.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

Customers with portal-only accounts have limited access to Jira Service Management features as they can only access the portals, raise help requests, and view knowledge base articles. In some cases, your team may want to collaborate with a customer in your Atlassian cloud products or if the customer needs product access, they need to have Atlassian accounts.

Organization admins or site admins migrate a portal-only customer to an Atlassian account:

  1. Go to your site's Admin at admin.atlassian.com. If you're an admin for multiple sites or an organization admin, click the site's name and URL to open the Admin for that site.

  2. Select Jira Service Management.

  3. From the customer you want to migrate, select (more option) > Migrate to Atlassian account.

If you have the improved user management experience:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Products from the header.

  3. Under Sites and products, select the site that contains Jira Service Management.

  4. Under the Jira Service Management section on the nav bar, select Portal customers.

  5. Next to the customer you want to migrate, select > Migrate to Atlassian account.

  6. Select Migrate to confirm.

Newly migrated customers must log in using their Atlassian account credentials after you migrate them. If they have a new Atlassian account, they need to verify their email address.

When you migrate a customer to an Atlassian account, we do the following:

  • deactivate their portal-only profile 

  • migrate important data, such as their requests, to a new Atlassian account

  • assign a new user key to the Atlassian account

The migration process can take up to 10 minutes. When done, the old portal-only profile still displays as Inactive, but you can’t un-migrate it.

After migration, you can grant the user product access which will consume a corresponding product license. Learn more about updating product access settings.

What happens if a portal-only customer is invited to an Atlassian account?

If a portal-only customer is invited to an Atlassian product, you'll see a note in their profile prompting you to migrate them to an Atlassian account. If you don't migrate the user, then they can't view requests they sent as a portal-only customer.

If you’d like a customer with an Atlassian account to have access to a site, you’ll need to enable site access.

To enable site access:

  1. Navigate to Product > Users at admin.atlassian.com

  2. Select a user to navigate to User details page.

  3. Turn on Has access on site.

Additional Help