Remove or suspend a user

Viewing the right content?

From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, view the improved user management content.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

Remove a user if you don't want them to have access to your site. Removing a user from a site doesn’t remove them from your organization or other sites you manage and it won’t delete their account completely.

Only organization admins can deactivate or delete a user from organizations and across sites, see Deactivate a managed account and Delete a managed account.

If the account isn’t managed by your organization, only the user can delete their account, see Delete your Atlassian account.

Only organization admins and site admins can remove a user.

To suspend a user’s access temporarily instead of removing them, under Access, toggle off Has access on site. Suspended users cannot access your organization’s products, and they won’t be billed.

To remove a user:

  1. From your site's Administration, select Users.

  2. From the user you want to remove, select Show details from the Actions column.
    You may need to click the dropdown to see this option.

  3. On the user details screen, select the 3 dot icon and then select Remove user.


Improved user management experience

Remove a user if you don’t want them to appear in your organization. Removing a user from one organization doesn’t remove them from other organizations you manage and it won’t permanently delete their account.

Only organization admins can remove a user, Deactivate a managed account, or Delete a managed account from organizations.

If the account isn’t managed by your organization, only the user can delete their account, see Delete your Atlassian account.

If you want to remove the user’s access temporarily, select Suspend access instead of Remove user in the procedure below. Suspended users cannot access your organization’s products, and they won’t be billed.

To remove a user:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Directory > Users.

  3. Find a user, then select their avatar or Show details.

  4. At the top of the page, select > Remove user.

User profile showing a 3-dot icon menu dropped down. One option there is Remove a user

Additional Help