robotsnoindex
robotsnoindex
robotsnoindex
robotsnoindex

robotsnoindex

We’re currently rolling out changes that affect the content on this page. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. We’ll note changes for the improved experience in the content below.



After you verify a domain, all the Atlassian accounts with email addresses from that domain become managed accounts. As an organization admin, you can edit the details of a managed account.

When the domain of a user’s account isn’t verified, the user’s account is unmanaged. In that case, only the user can edit their own account details.


To make changes to a managed user account:

From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, select Directory > Managed accounts. Next to an individual account, click Show details to open the managed account’s page.


To edit the user’s name, job title, department, or location:

You may need to click Show more details to see all fields. From a field, click its value. If the field has no value, you can still edit by clicking Click to enter value. After you enter a value, click the checkmark to save.

Change to email address update

Starting from mid-January to mid-February, we'll be rolling out a change to updating email addresses. Before, you could update a managed account's email address to an email of an unverified domain. Now, you can only update an email with a domain you've verified.

Since the change is rolling out over time, you might still be able to update an email address to an unverified domain. If so, we'll email the user to verify the update.


To update the account's email address:

If you want to update the email address of a managed account to another email address, make sure you’ve verified the domain for the email you want to update to.

From the Email address field, enter the updated email address and click the checkmark. You can only update an email address if the new email address also belongs to a domain you verify for your organization.

If you’re unable to verify the domain, let the user know they can create a new Atlassian account with that email address.


To change the user's profile picture:

From Profile Picture, hover over the photo and select Change profile photo. You can either drag and drop or upload the photo. Click Save when you're done.


To manage product access:

Each user’s managed account lists all the products they can access in the Product access table. For the product you want to manage access, select the 3 dot icon > Manage product access to open the user’s page in the site’s administration. From there, you can remove product access, update access for other products associated with the site, or take other actions related to the user.

Note this different way to manage product access if you have the improved user management experience: for the product you want to manage access, select the 3 dot icon > Manage product access to open the user’s page in the organization’s administration. From there, you can remove product access, update access for other products associated with the organization, or take other actions related to the user.


To exclude the user from logging in with two-step verification:

If your organization enforces two-step verification, you can temporarily exclude a user from being required to log in with a second step. From Two-step verification under Security, click Exclude from two-step verification. To learn more about what happens when you exclude users, see Temporarily exclude users from two-step verification.


To require the user to reset their password:

Select Reset password from the top right.


To revoke API tokens the user created:

From the API tokens list, you can see a list of API tokens the user created. Users can create API tokens to perform authenticated operations with product APIs. To learn more about how users create and use their own API tokens, see API tokens.

With an Atlassian Access subscription, you can revoke a user’s API tokens. From the API tokens list, click Revoke next to each token.


To delete or deactivate an account:

Select Deactivate account or Delete account from the top right. To learn more, see Deactivate a managed account or Delete a managed account.