Delete portal-only customers

We’re currently rolling out changes that affect the content on this page. From your organization at admin.atlassian.com, if the Users list and Groups list are under the Directory tab, you have the improved user management experience. We’ll note changes for the improved experience in the content below.

A diagram of an new admin.atlassian.com view that shows a new Directory tab instead of Users and Groups

When you delete a customer's portal-only account, they won't be able to log in to your portals to raise requests and view articles. You can't restore an account once it's been deleted. If you think you’ll need this account at another point in the future, we suggest you revoke access instead.

Organization admins and site admins can delete a customer’s portal-only account:

  1. Go to your site's Admin at admin.atlassian.com. If you're an admin for multiple sites or an organization admin, click the site's name and URL to open the Admin for that site.

  2. Select Jira Service Management.

  3. Find the customer you want to change the password for, and select (More option) > Delete account.

  4. Select Delete to confirm.

If you have the improved user management experience:

  1. Go to admin.atlassian.com. Select your organization if you have more than one.

  2. Select Products from the header.

  3. Under Sites and products, select the site that contains Jira Service Management.

  4. Under the Jira Service Management section on the nav bar, select Portal customers.

  5. Next to the customer you want to delete, select (More option) > Delete account.

  6. Select Delete to confirm.

Delete account consequences

  1. The customer’s portal-only account will be completely wiped out hence losing access to the site’s portals. 

  2. The customer won't be searchable and selectable in user-picker fields.

  3. The customer’s name will show up as Former user (Deactivated) in user-picker fields that were previously filled with their name:  

Deleted customer

4. The account isn't searchable in any filter.

5. No reference is kept on the account's email address. If the same customer is re-invited to the instance in the future it will be a brand new account without any correlation with the previously existing account.

 

Additional Help