Delete members in a Workspace

If you're an admin, you can individually delete members of your workspace, which will ensure they will no longer have access to the content in the Workspace.

Before you choose to keep or delete content please review the information in the section below.

  1. You'll first need to deactivate the user you'd like to remove from your workspace. You can do this by navigating to the Users page under Manage in the lefthand navigation and checking off the user you want to deactivate. 

  2. After you have deactivated the desired workspace member, you will then need to filter to deactivated users.

  3. Check off the user you wish to remove. You should see the option to either re-activate their account or permanently delete it. Select Permanently delete profile.

  4. You should then be taken into a confirmation flow. You can choose to either keep or delete content they have Shared to an Open Space. 

  5. To complete the process, enter the email address of the member you wish to delete to confirm the action, then select "Permanently Delete Profile."

  6. Type the member's email to confirm before selecting Permanently delete profile. If you return to your Members tab, you'll see that the user is gone. 

Content Transfer: Starter, Business, and Business and AI Plans

If you are a Legacy Loom user not migrated to Atlassian you will have to manually select to Keep Content, it will not be auto enabled for you.

When you delete a user the only content that will be kept includes:

  • Content added to ‘Open Spaces’ or a public space then entire workspace is in.

Content that will not be kept includes:

  • Videos shared privately between you and I

  • Videos shared via Link

  • Videos shared directly with a user

  • Videos in private spaces

  • Videos in open spaces that the whole workspace has not joined.

Content that is deleted by removing a member is permanently deleted and non recoverable.

How do I know exactly what content will be transferred?

View the user’s profile page on loom by searching their name and clicking on the search item that pops up. On the profile page, if you are their admin, you will see a ‘Transferrable Content’ Filter that you can add. If you toggle on this filter, you will be able to see what content would be kept if the user was deleted.

Profile page of a video sharing platform showing two public test videos
Loom Profile Page with Test Videos

Who will the content be transferred to?

The content will be transferred to one of the admins of the workspace.

Content Transfer - Enterprise

If you are a Legacy Loom user not migrated to Atlassian you will have to manually select to Keep Content. It will not be auto enabled for you.

All content, public and private will be transferred to one of the workspace admins. Public content will stay public, private content will stay private, no permissions will change, we just update the video owner to a workspace admin.

For private / unshared content, it will appear in a folder called "[Deleted User's Email] - [Deleted User's Name]'s content" in the admin’s Library.

Delete a workspace

Once all members in a workspace are deleted in accordance with the above section of this page, you can delete your workspace including all videos and data contained in the workspace, depending on which version you have as follows:

Started Free plan customers:

Paid customer with active subscriptions

 

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.