Configure data retention rules for your team
Available on: Enterprise and Premium (Business+AI) plans
Note: This feature is available for Atlassian-managed workspaces only. If your workspace is managed through the legacy Loom admin console (not Atlassian administration), this feature is not available on your current plan.
Admins on an Enterprise or Premium (Business+AI) plan have access to data retention features.
You can set how long Loom videos should remain in your Workspace or a Space before automatic deletion. This is useful if you want videos to automatically delete after a certain amount of time has passed. You can configure retention periods separately for Loom videos and screenshots and for Meeting recordings.
Below you can find how to set up data retention for your entire Workspace or a particular space.
Data retention for a workspace
You can set a Workspace level policy to determine how long videos should remain in your Workspace before automatic deletion.
Retention periods are based on the creation date. For example, if you set a retention policy of 90 days, videos will be deleted 90 days after they are created.
Here's how to set your data retention rules for a workspace:
Go to the Data tab of your Workspace settings.
Under Data Retention and Deletion, choose your preferred settings independently for Loom videos & screenshots and Meeting recordings. For each content type, you can either keep content in your Workspace forever, select a preset (30, 90, or 180 days), or Customize the amount of time to keep your data.
If you choose to customize, you can choose the number of days or years to keep your data. In the retention date selection modal, admins can use a toggle to choose whether linked Confluence notes pages and recaps for meeting recordings should be permanently deleted or kept when recordings expire.
Data retention for a space
You can set data retention for a specific space which can override any workspace data retention rules in place. Space-level retention rules can be configured separately for videos and meeting recordings.
Deletion is permanent; any videos deleted in a space will also be deleted from the video Creators Library.
Deletion is based on the video creation date, not how long the video has been living in Space.
Example: A Space has 10 videos in it and five of those videos are more than 30 days old. An admin adds a 30-day retention policy to the space, then those 5 videos will be deleted within 24 hours.Videos shared to multiple spaces that have different data retention policies in place, the video will be deleted according to the most restrictive policy.
Example: If a video is shared to Space 1 (which deletes videos older than a year) and Space 2 (which deletes videos older than a month) then the video will be deleted from both spaces after a month.
Here's how to set your data retention rules for spaces:
Go to the Space tab within your Workspace settings.
Check off the space that you are looking to edit and select Set data retention on the right-hand side.
From here you can choose how videos and meeting recordings within the space are stored. For each content type, you can choose to: (1) Keep in the space forever, (2) Delete after a preset timeframe (30, 90, or 180 days), or (3) Delete after a custom amount of time.
Note: Only 2,000 videos per workspace can be deleted by data retention rules per day. If your workspace reaches the limit for the day, the remaining videos will be deleted the following day.
FAQ
What happens after my data is deleted?
Data deletion is permanent, so there is, unfortunately, no way to recover deleted content. This includes video recordings, transcripts, AI summaries, comments, and any linked Confluence recaps configured for deletion.
Can I exclude certain data from being deleted?
Yes, you can exclude content from being deleted by editing data retention rules at a Spaces level. To do this go your Workspace Settings, then Spaces and select the space you want to keep content. You can then select Set data retention for that space and select Keep videos in the space forever.
What happens to existing content when data retention is turned on?
Videos that are already past the expiration period will be deleted within 24 hours of the data retention policy being turned on.
How do split data retention policies work for videos vs. meeting recordings?
You can set independent retention periods for async Loom videos and screenshots and for Meeting recordings. Setting or updating a policy for one type does not affect the retention period configured for the other.
What happens to linked Confluence meeting recaps when a meeting recording is deleted?
By default, Confluence meeting recaps and notes are retained even if the original video recording is deleted. Admins can optionally configure the retention policy to permanently delete linked Confluence meeting recaps when the corresponding recording expires.
Was this helpful?