How to restrict changes on Approvers field in agent view

Platform Notice: Cloud Only - This article only applies to Atlassian apps on the cloud platform.

Summary

Adding an approval step to a workflow means that specific team members must approve work items before they move along to the next status in that workflow.

When you add the approvers to the Workflow status, the field that contains the users is editable internally by the JSM agents/admins.

Solution

Requirement

Configuration in this article

Agents/admins may change approvers

Keep the Approvers field on the relevant Edit issue screen.

Approvers must be fixed after the workflow step is configured

Set the default approver value and remove the field from the Edit issue screen

If you don’t want the approvers to be modified, fields used for the approval process must have a default value set. It’s possible to achieve it by following the steps presented on Define approvers for a request type, alternatively you may also Define a default value for the field.

Remove Field from Edit Screen

With a default value set, the Approvers (or other User/Group custom field used) field may be removed from the Edit/View screen:

Before removing the field, confirm that the following:

  • The relevant work type uses the intended Edit issue screen, removing the field from the wrong screen will not prevent edits on the screen actually used by the agent.

  • Approvers' field has a default value configured, If the field does not have a default value, it will disrupt the approval process.

  1. Go to Space Settings > Request Types > Screens

  2. Expand the options from the relevant Work type

  3. Click on the screen related to the “Edit Work Type" option

  4. Remove the Approvers field

The approvers will show up on the agent view, but won’t be possible to edit them.

Verify the restriction

  1. Open a test work item in the approval step as an agent.

  2. Confirm the approver value is visible.

  3. Confirm the field is not editable from the Agent view.

  4. Confirm the default value appears on newly created issues that enter the approval workflow.

Updated on September 28, 2026

Still need help?

The Atlassian Community is here for you.